Charlotte LEWIN SCHAPIRA (married name)

1926 - 2016 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Charlotte LEWIN (1926-2016)

Charlotte LEWIN in 1942

Source : FINGER Blanche , KAREL William Karel, La Rafle du Vel d’Hiv… 50 ans après – Opération vent printanier France, 1992, 60 minutes.

Charlotte Lewin was born on January 15, 1926. Her father, Moszek or Mojzesz (Moïse) LEWIN, aged 34 (born in Lublin on July 24, 1891 in Russified Poland, annexed to the Russian Empire), was a second-hand goods dealer and stallholder on the outdoor markets, who owned a shop in Paris. Her mother, Bajla (Berthe) LEWIN, was 32, née BRONSZTEJN (BAURENSTEIN) in Kasniez (Occupied Poland) in 1893. Charlotte had two sisters and three brothers – Israël, born in 1916, Esther born in Lublin in 1917, Anna born in 1922, Maurice born in 1923, and Raymond born in Paris in 1930.

In 1924 the LEWIN family left Poland to immigrate to France. Mojzesz and Bajla LEWIN settled with their four children in the 18th district of Paris. The family grew large with the births of Charlotte in 1926, and later her little brother Raymond.

In 1936 Israël enlisted at the age of 20 in the International Brigades in Spain. Like André MALRAUX, he went “for the love liberty and fraternity” (1). In November 1936 Charlotte’s brother was one of the 5000 casualties on the Spanish Republican side in the Battle of Madrid.

On April 19, 1938 Esther, a hat trimmer, married André SCHOTLAND.

In August 1939 Raymond and Charlotte were sent by their school to summer camp at Senones in the Vosges.

After war was declared on September 3, 1939, Raymond and Charlotte’s camp was evacuated to Villers-sur-Mer in Normandy.

At the age of 49 Charlotte’s father enlisted in the French Army to defend his foster country, although neither he nor his wife, despite their request, had been naturalized (they were stateless).

Having left for a month of vacation, Charlotte and Raymond stayed for a year in Normandy. They only got back to Paris in July 1940, after the armistice of June 25th. Charlotte went back to school in Paris at the start of the new school year.

On July 16, 1942 Charlotte, Raymond and their parents were arrested during the Vélodrome d’Hiver Roundup. They were all taken to the police station on the Place Jules Joffrin. Charlotte was freed on the grounds of being French. She then found herself, along with her two sisters, Esther and Anna, and her brother Maurice without support.  Her parents and her brother Raymond were interned on July 18th in the camp at Pithiviers. Mojzesz LEWIN was deported to Auschwitz in convoy n° 13 on July 31, 1942 at the age of 51. Bajla, Charlotte’s mother, was deported on August 3, 1942 in convoy n° 14 to Auschwitz. Charlotte’s younger brother Raymond was deported to Auschwitz in convoy n° 24 on August 26, 1942. He was 12 years old.

Abandoned by everyone, the three sisters (Charlotte, Anna and Esther) and their brother Maurice suffered weeks of distress and despair. Esther was without any news of her husband, who had been taken prisoner of war. Anna found refuge in a boarding school of an organism called “La protection de la jeune fille israëlite” [Shelter for Young Jewish Women], where Charlotte joined her regularly. Maurice worked in a furrier’s workshop.

On October 8, 1942 Esther was arrested in turn and taken to the camp at Drancy. She was deported to Auschwitz on November 11, 1942 in convoy n° 45, where she was murdered. She was 25.

At the end of November 1942, after Maurice had left for the Free Zone, Charlotte joined her sister Anna in her boarding school on the boulevard Magenta. The two girls were subsequently moved to several different UGIF [General Union for the Israelites of France] pensions for young girls. At the end of April 1944 Charlotte was separated from her sister Anna and placed in a boarding school on the rue Vauquelin.

During the night of July 22, 1944 the police invaded several Parisian orphanages, including Charlotte’s. She was taken away to Drancy, as were around 400 children that night. Anna, boarding at a different school, eluded arrest. All the children of her school were able to get away before the police arrived.

On July 31, 1944 Charlotte was deported to Auschwitz in convoy n° 77. She was 18. She left Paris a month before the liberation of the capital. The train journey took three days and three nights in the full heat of summer. 726 people were gassed upon the convoy’s arrival on the night of August 3rd. Convoy 77 was initially made up of 1300 prisoners. Charlotte was one of the people selected for work. On the morning of August 4th , number A16752 was tattooed on her left forearm.

Charlotte lived through the hell of Auschwitz-Birkenau (Lager B 2) for three long months, until October 27, 1944, when she was selected by Joseph MENGELE with ten other women. Shut up in a holding pen for three days and nights she waited to be trucked to the gas chambers. When the roll was called on October 30th, the Germans took Charlotte and another woman out of the ranks, a new selection that was to save Charlotte’s life.

On October 31, 1944 Charlotte left the Auschwitz-Birkenau camp. After a long journey in a cattle wagon, in which she found Berthe, her boarding school friend, she arrived on November 3rd at Bergen-Belsen in Germany. Charlotte was to remain in that concentration camp for three months. On January 15, 1945, “the women whose turn it was to scrape the bottom of the barrel said, ‘We give up our turn to Charlotte; she can scrape the bottom all alone; it’s our birthday present’ (2). That is how Charlotte’s fellow inmates “celebrated” her 19th birthday. On February 1, 1945 three German civilians accompanied by soldiers came to the camp to make a selection. Charlotte lied about her age and, pretending she was a seamstress, succeeded in getting herself chosen.”

On February 5, 1945, Charlotte arrived at Raguhn, near Leipzig, after three days and nights in a freight train cattle wagon. In that camp certain women were assigned to work in a factory. Others, including Charlotte, were given the task of keeping the camp clean.

There Charlotte survived a bout of exanthemous typhus [spotted fever].

On April 13, 1945 the camp was evacuated under the pressure of the Allies. Charlotte was once again put on a train for “the trip of horror” (3). After eight days in a cattle wagon the train stopped near the camp at Theresienstadt in the annexed Sudetenland.

On May 10, 1945 the Russian Army liberated the camp, but it was not until May 31, 1945 that the French women began to be repatriated. FREEDOM at last!

On June 2, 1945 the airplane Charlotte was on left Pilsen and landed several hours later at Lyon. After medical examinations at the hospital of Lyon-Sathonay, Charlotte took the train to Paris on June 6th.

After being treated, fed and housed she was reunited with the sister Anna on June 7, 1945 and with her older brother Maurice on June 16, 1945.

She was later to learn that her father had been shot after the uprising of April 19, 1943, and the subsequent liquidation of the Warsaw ghetto.

In March of 1947 Charlotte began working as a secretary.

In February 1949 after her sister Anna’s marriage, Charlotte lived for several years alone, working for a dental institute in Neuilly. In September 1955 she met Pierre Schapira, a patient in the waiting room of a dentist friend. There she chanced upon love. They got married in January 1956.

In October 1957 Charlotte and Pierre had a child, Laura. Two years later Charlotte gave birth to Aline.

In the autumn of 1977 Charlotte decided to go back to Auschwitz. Her daughter Aline went with her. That journey was, in her own words, a shock, but also a way to fight her nightmares.

In 1988 Charlotte returned again to Auschwitz, accompanied by her husband Pierre. Some fifty history teachers were also on the trip.

Charlotte Schapira considered the transmission of this memory exceedingly important. She met with young people, testifying in junior and senior high schools for several years. On December 8, 2005, invited by Bertrand Bossy, teach of history and geography, Charlotte testified in Cholet before the students of the Renaudeau High School.

Charlotte passed away in 2016.

   Raymond and Esther LEWIN

Mojzesz and Bajla LEWIN

Source : CDJC, Mémorial de la Shoah

Charlotte SCHAPIRA testifying before the students of the Renaudeau High School  (Cholet, Maine-et-Loire department), March 8, 2005.

Article written by Killian Brémond, Théliau Thoby and Mathis Boré (Renaudeau High School, Cholet, 11th grade, May 2018) for the project “Poles and Germans: emigrants, exiled and persecuted (1880-1945)” . ACTIONS ÉDUCATIVES LIGÉRIENNES, Région Pays de la Loire, 2017/2018.

(1) Charlotte Schapira, Il faudra que je me souvienne, [I will have to remember] L’Harmattan, Paris, 1994, p. 11.

(2) Ibid, p. 92.

(3) Ibid, p. 105.

 

MEMORIAM :                   

  • PARIS, MÉMORIAL DE LA SHOAH : WALL OF NAMES and CHILDREN’S MEMORIAL

       

Charlotte Lewin, Wall of Names, Renaudeau High School (February 15, 2018)

 

        

Raymond Lewin, Children’s Memorial, Wall of Names, Renaudeau High School (February 15, 2018)

 

  • AUSCHWITZ-BIRKENAU :  Renaudeau High School Commemoration (March 15, 2018)

Steles Auschwitz-Birkenau (Bunker 2)

Renaudeau High School Commemoration (March 15, 2018), Charlotte and Raymond Lewin

Sources :

  1. testimonials:
  • SCHAPIRA Charlotte, Il faudra que je me souvienne. La déportation des enfants de l’Union Générale des Israélites de France, Paris, L’Harmattan, 1994, 140 p.
  • FINGER Blanche , KAREL William Karel, La Rafle du Vel d’Hiv… 50 ans après – Opération vent printanier France, 1992, 60 minutes, documentaire diffusé dans l’émission La Marche du siècle, France 3, 1992, Jean-Marie Cavada.
  • SCHAPIRA Charlotte, Enregistrement témoignage Lycée Fernand Renaudeau, Cholet (Maine-et-Loire), 8 mars 2005.
  • Remerciements à Yvette LEVY pour son témoignage devant les élèves de 1 ES2 du lycée Fernand Renaudeau, Mémorial de la Shoah, Paris, 15 février 2018.

2. Archives :

  • Yad Vashem : témoignages & archives en ligne (https://yvng.yadvashem.org).
  • CDJC-Mémorial de la Shoah : archives en ligne (http://www.memorialdelashoah.org).
  • Mémorial des enfants, Mémorial de la Shoah (photographies extraites de Serge Klarsfeld, Livre Mémorial des enfants juifs déportés de France, éd. Les Fils et Filles des déportés de France, 1995).
Charlotte-Lewin-1942_image entete
raymond-esther_lewin
parents-Mojsze-Bajla_Lewin
Charlotte-Schapira-8-mars-2005_temoigne
Charlotte Lewin, Mur des Noms, Lycée Renaudeau (15 février 2018)
Charlotte Lewin, Mur des Noms, Commémoration Lycée Renaudeau (15 février 2018)
Raymond Lewin, Mémorial des Enfants, Lycée Renaudeau (15 février 2018)
Raymond Lewin, Mur des Noms, Lycée Renaudeau (15 février 2018)
Commémoration lycée Renaudeau (15 mars 2018) Charlotte et Raymond Lewin
Stèles Auschwitz-Birkenau (Bunker 2)

Contributor(s)

Article rédigé par Killian Brémond, Théliau Thoby et Mathis Boré (Lycée Renaudeau, Cholet, 1ère ES2, mai 2018) dans le cadre du projet "Polonais et Allemands : émigrés, expulsés et persécutés (1880-1945)". ACTIONS ÉDUCATIVES LIGÉRIENNES, Région Pays de la Loire, 2017/2018, sous la direction de Bertrand Bossy, leur professeur d'histoire géographie.
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Charlotte LEWIN épouse SCHAPIRA

1926 - 2016 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Charlotte LEWIN (1926-2016)

Charlotte LEWIN en 1942                                                                            Source : FINGER Blanche , KAREL William Karel, La Rafle du Vel d’Hiv… 50 ans après – Opération vent printanier France, 1992, 60 minutes.

Charlotte Lewin naît à Paris le 15 janvier 1926. Son père, Moszek ou Mojzesz (Moïse) LEWIN, âgé de 34 ans (il est né à Lublin le 24 juillet 1891 dans une Pologne russifiée et annexée à l’empire russe), est brocanteur et marchand forain et possède un magasin à Paris. Sa mère, Bajla (Berthe) LEWIN, a 32 ans , elle est née BRONSZTEJN (BAURENSTEIN) à Kasniez (Pologne occupée) en 1893. Charlotte a deux sœurs et trois frères : Israël né en 1916, Esther née à Lublin en 1917, Anna née en 1922, Maurice né en 1923 et Raymond né à Paris en 1930.

En 1924, la famille LEWIN quitte la Pologne pour émigrer en France. Mojzesz et Bajla LEWIN s’installent avec leurs quatre enfants à Paris dans le 18ème arrondissement. La famille s’agrandit avec la naissance de Charlotte en 1926, puis celle de son petit frère, Raymond.

En 1936, Israël s’engage  à 20 ans dans les Brigades Internationales en Espagne. Tout comme André MALRAUX, il est parti « par amour de la liberté et de la fraternité » (1). En novembre 1936, le frère de Charlotte fait partie des 5000 victimes de la bataille de Madrid côté République Espagnole.

Le 19 avril 1938, Esther, garnisseuse en chapeaux, se marie avec André SCHOTLAND.

En août 1939, Raymond et Charlotte sont envoyés en colonie de vacances par leur école, à Senones, dans les Vosges.

Suite à la déclaration de guerre le 3 septembre 1939, la colonie de Raymond et de Charlotte est évacuée vers la Normandie, à Villers-sur-Mer.

À 49 ans, le père de Charlotte s’engage volontairement dans l’armée française afin de défendre son pays d’accueil alors même que lui et sa femme n’ont pas été naturalisés malgré leurs demandes (ils sont apatrides).

Partis pour un mois de vacances, Charlotte et Raymond sont restés un an en Normandie. Ils n’ont regagné Paris qu’en juillet 1940, après l’armistice du 25 juin. Charlotte reprend alors ses études dans un collège parisien dès la rentrée scolaire.

Le 16 juillet 1942, Charlotte, Raymond et leurs parents sont arrêtés lors de la Rafle du Vélodrome d’Hiver. Ils sont tous emmenés au commissariat de la place Jules Joffrin. Charlotte est alors libérée au prétexte qu’elle est française. Charlotte se retrouve alors toute seule avec ses deux sœurs et son frère aîné : Esther, Anna et Maurice. Ses parents et son frère, Raymond, sont internés le 18 juillet au camp de Pithiviers. Mojzesz LEWIN est déporté vers Auschwitz par le convoi n° 13 du 31 juillet 1942 à 51 ans. Bajla, la mère de Charlotte, est déportée le 03 août 1942 par le convoi n°14 en direction d’Auschwitz. Raymond, le petit frère de Charlotte, est déporté par le convoi n°24 vers Auschwitz le 26 août 1942. Il avait 12 ans.

Abandonnés de tout le monde, les trois soeurs (Charlotte, Anna et Esther) et leur frère, Maurice, connaissent des semaines de détresse et de désespoir. Esther est sans nouvelles de son mari, prisonnier de guerre. Anna a trouvé refuge dans un pensionnat de « La protection de la jeune fille israélite » où Charlotte la rejoint régulièrement. Maurice travaille dans un atelier de fourrure.

Le 8 octobre 1942, Esther est arrêtée à son tour et emmenée au camp de Drancy. Elle est déportée à Auschwitz le 11 novembre 1942 (convoi n° 45) où elle est assassinée. Elle avait 25 ans.

Fin novembre 1942, suite au départ de Maurice vers la zone libre, Charlotte rejoint sa sœur Anna dans son pensionnat du boulevard Magenta. Puis les deux sœurs sont déplacées dans plusieurs pensions pour jeunes filles de l’U.G.I.F. Fin avril 1944, Charlotte est séparée de sa sœur Anna et placée dans un pensionnat de la rue Vauquelin.

Dans la nuit du 22 juillet 1944, la police investit plusieurs orphelinats parisiens dont celui de Charlotte. Elle est emmenée à Drancy comme environ 400 enfants cette nuit-là. Anna, logée dans un autre pensionnat, a échappé à l’arrestation. Tous les enfants de son pensionnat ont pu s’enfuir avant l’intervention de la police.

Le 31 juillet 1944, Charlotte est déportée vers Auschwitz dans le convoi n°77. Elle a 18 ans. Elle quitte Paris un mois avant la libération de la capitale. Le trajet en train dura trois jours et trois nuits sous la chaleur de l’été. 726 personnes déportées sont gazées à l’arrivée du convoi dans la nuit du 3 août. Initialement, le convoi 77 était composé de 1300 personnes. Charlotte fait partie des personnes sélectionnées. Le 4 août dans la matinée, le numéro A16752 est tatoué sur son avant-bras gauche.

Charlotte connaît l’enfer d’Auschwitz-Birkenau (Lager B 2) pendant trois longs mois jusqu’au 27 octobre 1944, date à laquelle elle est sélectionnée par Joseph MENGELE avec une dizaine de femmes. Pendant trois jours et trois nuits, elle attend enfermée dans un bloc le camion pour la chambre à gaz. Lors de l’appel du 30 octobre, les Allemands font sortir du rang Charlotte et une autre femme. Cette nouvelle sélection va sauver Charlotte de la mort.

Le 31 octobre 1944, Charlotte quitte le camp d’Auschwitz-Birkenau. Après un long trajet dans un wagon à bestiaux où elle retrouve Berthe, sa camarade de pension, elle arrive, le 3 novembre, à Bergen-Belsen en Allemagne. Charlotte va rester trois mois dans ce camp de concentration. Le 15 janvier 1945, « les femmes à qui était dévolu le tour de gratter le fond de tonneau ont dit : « Nous cédons notre tour à Charlotte, c’est elle seule qui grattera le fond, c’est notre cadeau d’anniversaire » » (2). C’est ainsi que les camarades de Charlotte lui ont « fêté » ses 19 ans.  Le 1er février 1945, trois civils allemands accompagnés de militaires entrent dans le camp pour opérer une sélection. Charlotte ment sur son âge et, en faisant croire qu’elle est couturière, réussit ainsi à être choisie.

Le 5 février 1945, Charlotte arrive à Raguhn, près de Leipzig, après avoir passé trois jours et trois nuits dans un wagon à bestiaux de la SNCF. Dans ce camp, certaines femmes ont été affectées au travail dans une usine. Les autres, dont Charlotte, furent chargées de l’entretien du camp.

Dans ce camp, Charlotte survit au typhus exanthématique.

Le 13 avril 1945, à cause de la pression des Alliés, le camp est évacué. Charlotte reprend le train : « le voyage de l’horreur » (3). Après huit jours passés dans un wagon à bestiaux, le train s’arrête près du camp de Theresienstadt dans les Sudètes annexés.

Le 10 mai 1945, l’armée russe libère le camp mais il faut attendre le 31 mai 1945 pour que commence le rapatriement des Françaises. Enfin la LIBERTÉ !

Le 2 juin 1945, l’avion dans lequel se trouve Charlotte part de Pilsen et se pose quelques heures plus tard à Lyon. Après des examens médicaux à l’hôpital de Lyon-Sathonay, Charlotte prend le train en direction de Paris le 6 juin.

Après avoir été prise en charge : soignée, nourrie et logée, elle retrouve sa sœur Anna le 7 juin 1945 et  son grand-frère Maurice le 16 juin 1945.

Plus tard, elle apprendra que son père a été fusillé après la liquidation du ghetto de Varsovie suite à l’insurrection du 19 avril 1943.

En mars 1947, Charlotte commence à travailler en tant que secrétaire.

En février 1949, suite au mariage de sa soeur Anna, Charlotte vit seule quelques années et travaille dans un institut dentaire à Neuilly. En septembre 1955, Charlotte fait connaissance de Pierre Schapira, un patient qui attendait dans la salle d’attente d’une dentiste amie. Dans cette salle d’attente, elle rencontre l’amour. Ils se marient en janvier 1956.

En octobre 1957, Charlotte et Pierre ont un enfant, Laure. Deux ans plus tard, Charlotte donne naissance à Aline.

À l’automne 1977, Charlotte décide de retourner à Auschwitz. Sa fille, Aline, l’accompagne. Ce voyage est, d’après ses mots, un choc mais également une façon de combattre ses cauchemars.

En 1988, Charlotte retourne à Auschwitz accompagnée de Pierre, son mari. Une cinquantaine de professeurs, d’Histoire notamment, font également partie du voyage.

Charlotte Schapira accorde une grande importance à la transmission de cette mémoire. Elle va à la rencontre des jeunes, en témoignant dans les collèges et les lycées durant plusieurs années. Le 8 décembre 2005, à l’invitation de Bertrand Bossy, professeur d’Histoire-Géographie, Charlotte témoigne à Cholet devant les élèves du lycée Renaudeau.

Charlotte est décédée en 2016.

    Raymond et Esther LEWIN

         Mojzesz et Bajla LEWIN

   Source : CDJC, Mémorial de la Shoah

Charlotte SCHAPIRA témoigne devant les élèves du lycée Renaudeau (Cholet, Maine-et-Loire), le 8 mars 2005.

Article rédigé par Killian Brémond, Théliau Thoby et Mathis Boré (Lycée Renaudeau, Cholet, 1ère ES2, mai 2018) dans le cadre du projet « Polonais et Allemands : émigrés, expulsés et persécutés (1880-1945)« . ACTIONS ÉDUCATIVES LIGÉRIENNES, Région Pays de la Loire, 2017/2018.

(1) Charlotte Schapira, Il faudra que je me souvienne, L’Harmattan, Paris, 1994, p. 11.

(2) Ibid, p. 92.

(3) Ibid, p. 105.

 

MÉMOIRE :                   

  • PARIS, MÉMORIAL DE LA SHOAH : MUR DES NOMS et MÉMORIAL DES ENFANTS

       

Charlotte Lewin, Mur des Noms, Lycée Renaudeau (15 février 2018)

 

        

Raymond Lewin, Mémorial des Enfants, Mur des Noms, Lycée Renaudeau (15 février 2018)

 

  • AUSCHWITZ-BIRKENAU : Commémoration lycée Renaudeau (15 mars 2018)       Stèles Auschwitz-Birkenau (Bunker 2)

                                             

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commémoration lycée Renaudeau (15 mars 2018), Charlotte et Raymond Lewin

Sources :

  1. témoignages :
  • SCHAPIRA Charlotte, Il faudra que je me souvienne. La déportation des enfants de l’Union Générale des Israélites de France, Paris, L’Harmattan, 1994, 140 p.
  • FINGER Blanche , KAREL William Karel, La Rafle du Vel d’Hiv… 50 ans après – Opération vent printanier France, 1992, 60 minutes, documentaire diffusé dans l’émission La Marche du siècle, France 3, 1992, Jean-Marie Cavada.
  • SCHAPIRA Charlotte, Enregistrement témoignage Lycée Fernand Renaudeau, Cholet (Maine-et-Loire), 8 mars 2005.
  • Remerciements à Yvette LEVY pour son témoignage devant les élèves de 1 ES2 du lycée Fernand Renaudeau, Mémorial de la Shoah, Paris, 15 février 2018.

2. Archives :

  • Yad Vashem : témoignages & archives en ligne (https://yvng.yadvashem.org).
  • CDJC-Mémorial de la Shoah : archives en ligne (http://www.memorialdelashoah.org).
  • Mémorial des enfants, Mémorial de la Shoah (photographies extraites de Serge Klarsfeld, Livre Mémorial des enfants juifs déportés de France, éd. Les Fils et Filles des déportés de France, 1995).

Contributeur(s)

Article rédigé par Killian Brémond, Théliau Thoby et Mathis Boré (Lycée Renaudeau, Cholet, 1ère ES2, mai 2018) dans le cadre du projet "Polonais et Allemands : émigrés, expulsés et persécutés (1880-1945)". ACTIONS ÉDUCATIVES LIGÉRIENNES, Région Pays de la Loire, 2017/2018, sous la direction de Bertrand Bossy, leur professeur d'histoire géographie.
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2018 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?