Eugénie LALLEMAND

1868 - 1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence: ,

Biography of Eugénie Lallemand, née Michel,

researched and written by the 11th- grade class of the Raymond Poincaré High School in Bar-le-Duc, under the supervision of Monsieur Cané.

Portrait of a courageous woman

Eugénie Michel was born on July 8, 1868 in Saint-Dizier in the Haute-Marne department of the Grand Est Region. She was the daughter of Jacques Michel, a thirty-year-old peddler from the Bas-Rhin department in Alsace, and of Luce Mayer, a 25-year-old housewife from Saint-Dizier.

She spent a good part of her childhood in the Marnaval workers’ district on the rue de Joinville.  According to the Histoire de Saint Dizier, written by Father Charles Didier and graciously provided by the city’s archives, Marnaval is an industrial, working-class district devoted to steel works. It took off after the War of 1870, driven by the Marnaval iron-mongering company, which enlarged and modernized the factories.  On March 1, 1881 Mr. Emile Giros, who wished to extend the factory network, set up in Wassy the Champagne and Saint-Dizier Canal Steel Company. It exploited the blast furnaces, brickyards, sheet metal works, wire drawing mills and steel foundries located over grounds of 1120 hectares (2800 acres) in Marnaval Saint Dizier and connected by private railroads to the national Eastern Railway and to special ports on the Haute-Marne Canal.

LALLEMAND_Eugenie_rue_Joinville_1868

The rue de Joinville in Saint-Dizier, Marnaval district around 1868, where Eugénie grew up

LALLEMAND_Eugenie_st_dizier_actuel_aerien

The same today

Her childhood was that of a little girl in a working-class district, brought up in the noise of factories, where her mother offered her services as a laundress to the workers. Eugénie married Louis Raphaël Lallemand, a skilled worker, on May 24, 1892. A daughter, Lucienne Raphaëlle Lallemand, was born to them on September 19, 1893.

The couple moved to n° 11 rue de Lacondamine in the 17th district of Paris.

It was in March of 1943 (when she was 75!) that Eugénie and her husband joined the Hector resistance network. She served as a letterbox, i.e. she kept compromising documents (such as the clandestine press) in her home and passed messages. It must be remembered that a 75-year-old woman in 1943 was absolutely not in the same physical shape as she would be today, especially if she came from a lower-class milieu, in which living conditions were harder than they now are. The students in our class wish especially to salute the courage of her commitment.

As confirmed in the 1963 testimony of Maurice Southgate, one of the founders of the network (who was himself arrested on May 1, 1944), the Lallemands served as letterboxes along with the Rousseaus, who lived on the boulevard Saint-Michel, for Jacques and Pierre Hirsch, members of the network.

Jacques Hirsch is the Lallemands’ son-in-law.

The Hector network

The Hector network was a French resistance network set up in the Occupied Zone by Alfred Heurteaux and Maurice Southgate of the SOE (Special Operations Executive, a section of the British secret service), and financed by the intelligence service of the Free French Air Force. Alfred Heurteaux was given the job by Xavier Viallat, then the undersecretary for veterans, of organizing the Légion des Combattants in the Northern Zone. Heurteaux took advantage of his pre-war friendships and his connections in the veterans’ circles to set up an intelligence network. It was not a structured regulation military network, but rather a hazy cluster of small amateur groups connected in constantly shifting ways.

With Robert Guédon’s agreement the Robert cells in the provinces passed under the aegis of the Hector network.  Heurteaux funds the Paris section of the National Liberation Movement launched by Henri Frenay, Robert Guédon, Colonel Ronin, head of the Vichy Air Force’s Intelligence Service, and General Bergeret.

German counter-intelligence in Paris slipped a V-Mann (informer), Andreas Fomer, alias Albert Richir, into the Vernon Hector cell. It was the beginning of the network’s demise.

Eugénie was arrested on May 13, 1944 at twelve noon at her home by four Gestapo agents, as confirmed by the testimony of the concierge, Léa Banquerel. Her husband Louis was arrested the following day. The archives do not reveal what became of him.

From May 13 to July 29, 1944 Eugénie was held in the Fresnes penitentiary. She went through the Drancy camp from the 29th to the 31st of July. Deported in convoy 77, she survived the journey. Given her age and the despicable transportation conditions she must have had an indefectible will to live. She died the day of her arrival, August 5, 1944. Because of her age the Nazis probably sent her directly to the gas chamber.

In May of 1945 her daughter, Lucienne Raphaëlle Hirsch-Lallemand, and her son-in-law, Jacques Hirsch, put in a request for a certificate of deportation and a missing person search.  They obtained an official death certificate on April 22, 1948. Eugénie and her husband, Louis Raphaël Lallemand, received the mention “died for France” the same year. This mention is delivered when death is imputable to an act of war.

The 11th-grade class of the Raymond Poincaré High School in Bar-le-Duc and their teacher, Monsieur Cané, wish to thank the Convoi 77 Association for granting it the honor of producing the biography of such a great lady.

Contributor(s)

11th-grade class of the Raymond Poincaré High School of Bar-le-Duc, supervised by Monsieur Cané.

LALLEMAND_Eugenie_rue_Joinville_1868
LALLEMAND_Eugenie_st_dizier_actuel_aerien
31511-LALLEMAND_Eugenie_photo

Contributor(s)

classe 1L1 du lycée Raymond Poincaré de Bar-le-Duc, sous la direction de monsieur Cané
0 Comments

Leave a reply

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Eugénie LALLEMAND

1868 - 1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: ,
31511-LALLEMAND_Eugenie_photo

Biographie d’Eugénie Lallemand, née Michel,

réalisée par la classe 1L1 du lycée Raymond Poincaré de Bar-le-Duc, sous la direction de monsieur Cané.

 

Portrait d’une femme courageuse.

Eugénie Michel est née le 8 juillet 1868 à 1 h30 à Saint-Dizier dans la Haute Marne dans le Grand Est. Elle est la fille de Jacques Michel, 30 ans, marchand colporteur originaire du Bas-Rhin et Luce Mayer, 25 ans , sans profession, originaire de Saint-Dizier. Eugénie ne semble pas avoir eu de frères et sœurs.

Elle passe une grande partie de son enfance dans le quartier ouvrier de Marnaval, rue de Joinville. Selon L’histoire de Saint Dizier, rédigée par l’abbé Charles Didier et gracieusement fournie par les archives de la ville, Marnaval est un quartier industriel et ouvrier consacré à la sidérurgie. Il prend son essor après la guerre de 1870, sous l’impulsion de la société des forges de Marnaval qui agrandit et modernise les usines. Le 1er mars 1881, M. Emile Giros voulant étendre le réseau des usines crée la compagnie des forges de champagne et du canal de Saint-Dizier à Wassy. Elle exploite les hauts fourneaux, les briqueteries, les forges laminoirs, les tréfileries et acieries de Marnaval Saint Dizier sur une superficie de 1120 hectares reliés par des chemins de fer particuliers à la ligne de chemin de fer de l’Est, ainsi que des ports spéciaux sur le canal de la Haute-Marne.

La rue de Joinville à Saint Dizier, quartier de Marnaval, où grandit Eugénie vers 1868.

La même aujourd’hui.

Son enfance est celle d’une petite fille d’un quartier populaire, bercé par le bruit des usines où sa maman propose ses services de lingère aux ouvriers. Eugénie se marie le 24 mai 1892 avec Louis Raphaël Lallemand, ouvrier qualifié. De cette union naît une petite fille, Lucienne Raphaëlle Lallemand le 19 septembre 1893.

Le couple part s’installer au 11 rue de Lacondamine, Paris, 17ème arrondissement.

C’est en mars 1943 (à 75 ans!) qu’Eugénie et son mari intègrent le réseau de résistance Hector. Elle sert de boîte aux lettres, ce qui signifie qu’elle garde chez elle des documents compromettants (presse clandestine) et fait passer les messages. Notons également qu’une femme de 75 ans en 1943 n’est absolument pas dans le même état de santé que maintenant au même âge, surtout si elle est originaire d’un milieu populaire au vu des conditions de vie plus difficiles qu’aujourd’hui . Les élèves de la classe de 1L 1 tiennent à saluer le courage de son engagement.

Comme le confirme en 1963 le témoignage de Maurice Southgate, un des fondateurs du réseau (lui même arrêté le 1er mai 1944), les époux Lallemand ont fait office de boîtes aux lettres avec les époux Rousseau demeurant au boulevard Saint-Michel, pour le compte de messieurs Jacques et Pierre Hirsch, membres du réseau.

Jacques Hirsch est le gendre des époux Lallemand.

Le réseau Hector.

Le réseau Hector fut un réseau de résistance français implanté en zone occupée par Alfred Heurteaux et Maurice Southgate du SOE, et subventionné par le service de renseignement de l’armée de l’air de la France Libre. As de la Grande Guerre, Alfred Heurteaux est chargé par Xavier Viallat alors secrétaire d’état aux anciens combattants d’organiser en zone Nord la Légion des Combattants. Heurteaux met à profit ses amitiés d’avant-guerre et ses contacts dans les milieux d’anciens combattants pour implanter un réseau de renseignement. Il ne s’agit pas d’un réseau militaire structuré dans les règles de l’art, mais d’une nébuleuse de petits cercles d’amateurs reliés entre eux par des courants très fluides.

Avec l’accord de Robert Guédon, les groupes Robert de province passent sous la houlette du réseau Hector. Heurteaux subventionne le groupe parisien du Mouvement de Libération Nationale d’Henri Frénay et Robert Guédon, du colonel Ronin, chef du SR Air, et du général Bergeret.

Le contre-espionnage allemand de Paris insère, dans le groupe Hector de Vernon, un V-Mann (homme de confiance), Andreas Folmer, alias Albert Richir. La destruction du réseau commence.

Eugénie est arrêtée le 13 mai 1944 à 12 h à son domicile par 4 membres de la Gestapo, comme le confirme le témoignage de la concierge Léa Banquerel. Son mari Louis est arrêté le lendemain. Les archives n’ont pas permis de savoir ce qu’il est devenu.

Du 13 mai au 29 juillet 1944, Eugénie est internée à la prison de Fresnes. Elle passe par le camp de Drancy du 29 au 31 juillet. Déportée dans le convoi 77, elle survit au voyage. Vu son âge et les conditions ignobles de transport, elle devait avoir la vie chevillée au corps. Elle meurt le jour de son arrivée le 05 août 1944. Toujours en raison de son âge, les Nazis l’ont probablement dirigée immédiatement sur la chambre à gaz.

En mai 1945 sa fille Lucienne Raphaëlle Hirsch-Lallemand et son gendre Jacques Hirsch font une demande de certificat de déportation et de recherche en personne disparue. Ils obtiennent l’acte de décès le 22 avril 1948. Eugénie et son mari Louis Raphaël Lallemand recevront la mention « morts pour la France » la même année. Cette mention est délivrée lorsque le décès est imputable à un fait de guerre.

La classe de 1 L 1 du lycée Raymond Poincaré à Bar-Le-Duc et leur professeur M. Cané remercient l’association convoi 77 de leur avoir donné l’honneur d’établir la biographie d’une si grande dame.

LALLEMAND_Eugenie_rue_Joinville_1868
LALLEMAND_Eugenie_st_dizier_actuel_aerien
31511-LALLEMAND_Eugenie_photo

Contributeur(s)

classe 1L1 du lycée Raymond Poincaré de Bar-le-Duc, sous la direction de monsieur Cané
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?