MANOWICZ LAYBUS

1897 - 1944 | Birth: | Arrest: , | Residence:

Lajbus MANOWICZ

BIOGRAPHY of Lajbus MANOWICZ, researched and written by Alice Duchesnes, M1 Archives 2017-2018, under the supervision of Professor Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI, Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis

The photo opposite is taken off the receipt for his request for a national I.D. card in 1927.

 

The spelling of the names Lajbus Manowicz which is used in this biography comes from his dealings with the French administration, i.e. the traces he left in the archives.

Lajbus’s life was deeply bound up with his family and cannot be written without including them: Sarah, his wife; their two sons, Henri and Joseph, with whom they were deported; and Isidore, their first-born son, who died in 1938.

Lajbus Manowicz, born on June 7, 1897 in Strykow, Poland to Elie Manowicz (1870 – ?) and Rachel Blimbaum (1868 – ?), arrived in France in March 1920 in the company of Sarah Pytel, born on August 27, 1897 to Schème Pythel and Anne Esther Koutas, also from Strykow, and on November 10th of that year they had their first son, Isidore Isaac[1].

The itinerary of this Russian couple before their arrival in France in 1920 [2], is quite fuzzy. Following a misunderstanding on application  at the Russian consolate for an identity card on March 24, 1920 it was stated that Lajbus was a war prinsoner in 1916 and then a civilian in Kehl, Germany for two years. That was to prove false, but it can be supposed that Lajbus spent some time in Germany before coming to France, which would partly explain how the mistake arose[.3].

On April 10, 1920, barely a month after he arrived in Paris, the Paris Police Préfecture ordered Lajbus to leave French territory for Brussels. For nearly a year and a half he disappeared from police records, living on the rue Jouy with Sarah and Isidore and working for the tailor Wakermann (rue du Faubourg Saint Martin). On March 2, 1921 he was reported by the police department’s bureau of surveillance of furnished accommodations, and the authorities once again told him to leave France. This time, he declared, he went as told to the Belgian border on March 19th, but having no passport he was turned back and returned to Paris. Then he had four days to get himself a passport and get out. He hid out again in a furnished room located on the rue Laghouat and changed his first name to Labisch, profession mechanic, born on February 27, 1897. But he was discovered on March 22. On April 18 he went to the Préfecture, declaring that he had contacted the Polish consulate in order to obtain passports, but he had no birth certificate, without which the procedure entailed a charge of 720 francs, an exorbitant sum for a couple with a modest income and a 5-year-old child. He asked for an 8-week delay. This cat-and-mouse game with the police was most probably a ploy to stay with his companion and his son and not have to leave alone.[4]

While trying to dodge expulsion his name was altered from Leibocesh to Leibousk, then Labisch. Thence came the name regularly used by the administrative services for over twenty years: Lajbus (or Labjus when the agents misspelled it).

The details of the following months are not precisely known, but on July 4, 1921 Lajbus and Sarah for the first time declared their residence in Paris. The couple got married on July 13, 1925 in the town hall of Paris’s 18th district[5] and affirmed having lived for more than two years on the impasse Letort. A few months afterwards, on January 19, 1926, another son Henri was born, followed by Joseph several years later, on November 29, 1934.

In a report dated December 1929 the Préfecture at last decided that given the “information gathered and his family situation” Lajbus and his wife could be naturalized, which took place on the following May 2nd[6].

On December 17, 1938 Isidore’s death was certified, but for reasons unknown[7].

From September 14 to September 23, 1939 Lajbus was mobilized in the 29th infantry regiment[8].

On May 14, 1941 in a report on “Jewish businesses” the General Commissariat for Jewish Matters decreed Lajbus’s commerce — a stand for men’s clothing on the market at 134 rue Michelet in Saint-Ouen — to be “of no economic interest” and therefore “to be liquidated at once and without delay”[10]. This aryanization was carried out by a provisional administrator, a Monsieur Schuttler, who sold the place and what merchandise was left on August 12, 1941 to Nestor Grolleau, a French “Aryan”, who was certified “no relation of the Israelite[11].

After his commerce was liquidated Lajbus worked at home, 102 rue Doudeauville in the 18th district, as a tailor for the Fagebaum firm[12].

In 1943 an enquiry was opened to find out whether the Manowiczes could keep their French citizenship or if they should be denaturalized. On October 5th a Paris Police Préfecture report recommended their citizenship should be maintained[13].

On July 23, 1944 they were all four — Lajbus, Sarah, Henri and Joseph — arrested and interned in the Drancy camp until their deportation on July 31st in convoy 77. None of them were to come back.

Upon their arrival at Auschwitz Lajbus and Joseph were sent directly to the gas chambers[14]. As for Sarah, she was let into the camp with Henri, who was sent off on October 28th to Stutthof and then to Hailflingen in November. He was declared dead on December 29, 1944, supposedly of some heart failing and was probably incinerated in the crematorium of the Reutlingen cemetery[15].

Their names are today inscribed on the Wall of Names of the Mémorial of the Shoah next to Laybus, probably a cousin of Lajbus’s, with whom he is often confused. (Laybus was also a tailor born in Strykow)[16]. No doubt on account of this cousin, Lajbus’s name was regularly changed to Laybus until it was completely Gallicized to Léon in his file at the Ministry for Veterans.

In 1948 Maszek (aka Maurice) Bocian, who claimed to be Lajbus’s first cousin, launched the procedure for him and his family to be recognized as “never returned” and to at last establish their death certificates[17]. He also asked to recuperate the merchandise and the business that Lajbus had owned[18]. Moszek Bocian, through his lawyer, Monsieur Fischgrung, succeeded in recovering the goods of which Lajbus was dispossessed, and although he was not given back the market spot, he was allotted 1,000 francs per month to pay rent on it.

Today their death certificates can be found in the register of the 18th district of Paris that covers July 1944 to August 21, 194419] , at numbers 3404 bis (Joseph), 3405 bis (Henri), 3406 bis (Lajbus) and 3407 bis (Sarah). Their names were added in 1949, handwritten in the margin and marked “bis”, having no true place in the register. They are said to have “died at Drancy on July 31, 1944”.

[1] Report by the bureau of aliens of the Domestic Intelligence Service, June 10, 1943, file Ia135 n°16812 of the Paris Préfecture of Police

[2] Poland was divided up from 1772 to 1918 between the Russian Empire, Prussia, and Austria. Strykow was located in the Russian section after 1795. In 1920 Poland recovered its independence (June 1919, Little Treaty of Versailles) and remained in conflict with Russia, with the Soviet-Polish War beginning shortly thereafter (1919-1921).  After the German, Slovak and Russian invasions in 1939 the country was again parceled out, which explains some of the administrative problems to come.

[3] Certificate from the Russian Consulate, March 24, 1920, file Ia135, Ibid.

[4] A dozen Police Préfecture reports between April 10, 1920 and May 1921, file Ia135, Ibid.

[5] Act n°2212, register18M542, Civil Status, Paris Archives

[6] Dossier Ia135, Ibid.

[7] Act n°4903, register 18D374, Civil Status, Paris Archives

[8] Report by the aliens bureau of the Domestic Intelligence Service of June 10, 1943, file Ia135, arch.cit.k

[9] 48th slide, report of May 14, 1941, by MIC/AJ/38/891, National Archives

[10] 21st slide, report of November 18, 1942, by the General Commissariat for Jewish Matters  MIC/AJ/38/891, Ibid.

[11] 34th slide by MIC/AJ/38/891, Ibid.

[12] Report by the Domestic Intelligence Service of June 10, 1943: “former merchant of men’s clothing, 136 avenue Michelet in Saint-Ouen, the person concerned has been working at his home for about a year as a tailor for the Fagenbaum firm” file Ia135, arch.cit.

[13] Dossier Ia135, Ibid.

[14] As they did not enter the camp, they had no I.D. number.

[15] Archives of Bad Arolsen

[16] Dossier FRAN107_F_9_5714_190879_L, archives of the Mémorial of the Shoah

[17] Dossiers 63.873, 63.874, 63.875 et 63.876, Archives of the Historical Defence Service, Caen

[18] Acts n°12098 register 1994W7 and n°8172 register 47W74, Decree of restitution of despoiled goods, Paris Archives

[19] Register 18D397, Civil Status, Paris Archives

Lajbus Manowicz 1920 photo demande CNI

Contributor(s)

Alice Duchesnes, sous la direction de la Professeure Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Lajbus MANOWICZ

1897 - 1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: , | Résidence:
Lajbus Manowicz 1920 photo demande CNI

BIOGRAPHIE de Lajbus MANOWICZ établie par Alice Duchesnes, M1 Archives 2017-2018, sous la direction de la Professeure Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI, Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis

Photo ci-contre extraite du récépissé de sa demande de CNI en 1927.

 

L’orthographe  des noms et prénoms de Lajbus Manowicz, retenue sous cette forme pour cette biographie, est  le reflet de son rapport à l’administration française, et donc des traces qu’il aura laissées dans les archives.

La vie de Lajbus est profondément liée à celles de ses proches et ne peut s’écrire sans eux : Sarah sa femme, Henri et Joseph, leurs deux fils avec lesquels ils ont été déportés, ainsi qu’Isidore, premier fils mort en 1938.

Lajbus Manowicz, né le 7 juin 1897 à Strycow en Pologne d’Elie Manowicz (1870 – ?) et Rachel Blimbaum (1868 – ?), arrive en France en mars 1920, en compagnie de Sarah Pytel, née le 27 août 1897 de Schème Pythel et Anne Esther Koutas, également à Strycow, et le 10 novembre de cette même année naît leur premier fils, Isidore Isaac[1].

Le  parcours du couple avant 1920, de nationalité russe lorsqu’ils arrivent en France[2], reste très flou : suite à un malentendu au consulat de Russie le 24 mars 1920 lors d’une demande de pièce d’identité, il est déclaré que Lajbus fut prisonnier de guerre en 1916 et durant deux ans à Kehl en Allemagne à titre civil. Il s’avérera que cela est faux, mais on peut alors supposer que Lajbus est passé par l’Allemagne avant d’arriver en France, ce qui expliquerait  en partie l’origine de ce malentendu[3].

Le 10 avril 1920, à peine un mois après son arrivée à Paris, la Préfecture de Paris demande à Lajbus (qui s’appelle alors Leibocesh) de quitter le territoire français pour Bruxelles. Durant près d’un an et demi, il disparait des radars de la police, habitant rue Jouy avec Sarah et Isidore, et travaillant pour le tailleur Wakermannn (rue du Faubourg saint Martin). Le 2 mars 1921, il est signalé par le service des Garnis, et les autorités lui demandent une nouvelle fois de quitter la France. Cette fois-ci, il dit s’être rendu comme prévu à la frontière belge le 19 mars, dépourvu de passeport, déclare avoir été refoulé et revient à Paris : il a quatre jours pour se procurer un passeport et quitter le territoire. Il se cache une nouvelle fois dans un garni situé rue Laghouat et modifie son prénom en Labisch, se présente comme mécanicien né le 27 février 1897, mais il est découvert le 22 mars. Le 18 avril, il se rend à la Préfecture et déclare s’être adressé au consulat de Pologne dans le but d’obtenir des passeports, mais n’ayant pas son acte de naissance, indispensable pour que cette procédure soit gratuite. En effet, la somme de 720 francs semble exorbitante pour un couple aux revenus modestes en charge d’un enfant de 5 mois.  Il demande un délai de 8 semaines. Il est fort probable que ce jeu du chat et de la souris avec la police était une tentative pour rester avec sa compagne et son fils et ne pas partir seul. [4]

Le nom est modifié de  Leibocesh, à Leibousk, puis Labisch, façon d’éviter l’expulsion. De là découlera le prénom utilisé couramment par les services administratifs pendant plus de vingt ans : Lajbus (ou Labjus lorsque les agents se trompaient d’orthographe).

On ne connait pas exactement les détails des mois qui suivent, mais le 4 juillet 1921, Lajbus et Sarah déclarent, pour la première fois, habiter à Paris. Le couple se marie le 13 juillet 1925  dans la mairie du 18ème arrondissement de Paris[5] et certifie vivre depuis plus de deux ans impasse Letort. Quelques mois plus tard, le 19 janvier 1926 nait Henri, suivi, quelques années après, le 29 novembre 1934, de Joseph.

Dans un rapport de décembre 1929, la Préfecture estime enfin qu’au vu des « renseignements recueillis et de sa situation de famille », Lajbus et son épouse peuvent être naturalisés, ce qui arrivera le 2 mai suivant[6].

Le 17 décembre 1938, Isidore est déclaré mort, nous n’en connaissons pas les raisons[7].

Du 14 au 23 septembre 1939, Lajbus est mobilisé dans le 29ème régiment d’infanterie[8].

Le 14 mai 1941, le Commissariat Général aux Questions Juives, dans un rapport sur l’« entreprise israélite » décrète la « liquidation immédiate, sans délais »[9] du commerce de Lajbus, jugé « sans intérêt économique »[10] : un stand de marché au 134 rue Michelet à Saint-Ouen, où il vendait des vêtements pour hommes.  Cette aryanisation est menée par un administrateur provisoire, Mr Schuttler, qui revendra l’emplacement et les marchandises restantes à Nestor Grolleau, « aryen » français, certifié « sans parenté avec l’israélite »[11] le 12 aout 1941.

Après la liquidation de son commerce, Lajbus travaille à domicile, 102 rue Doudeauville dans le 18ème arrondissement, comme tailleur pour la maison Fagenbaum.[12]

En 1943, une enquête est ouverte pour savoir si les Manowicz peuvent garder leur nationalité française, ou s’ils doivent être dénaturalisés : le 5 octobre, un rapport de la Préfecture de Police de Paris décide de maintenir leur naturalisation[13].

Le 23 juillet 1944, ils sont tous les quatre, Lajbus, Sarah, Henri et Joseph, arrêtés et internés dans le camp de Drancy, jusqu’au 31 juillet, et sont déportés avec le convoi 77, aucun n’en reviendra.

A leur arrivée à Auschwitz, Lajbus et Joseph sont directement envoyés aux chambres à gaz[14],. Quant à Sarah, elle entre dans le camp, avec Henri, qui sera déplacé à Stutthof (le 28 octobre) puis à Hailflingen en novembre. Il est déclaré mort le 29 décembre 1944, d’une supposée faiblesse au cœur et aurait été incinéré dans le crématoire du cimetière de Reutlingen[15].

Leurs noms sont aujourd’hui écrits sur le Mur des Noms du Mémorial de la Shoah, aux côtés de Laybus Manowiecz, probablement un cousin de Lajbus, avec lequel il est souvent confondu (en effet, Laybus est également tailleur et né à Strycow)[16]. Probablement à cause de ce cousin, le prénom de Lajbus est régulièrement transformé en Laybus, jusqu’à être complètement francisé dans son dossier au ministère aux anciens combattants, en Léon.

En 1948, Moszek (dit Maurice) Bocian qui se déclare être le cousin germain de Lajbus, entame une procédure pour que lui et sa famille soient reconnus comme « non-rentrés » pour enfin établir leurs actes de décès[17]. Il fait également une demande de restitution des biens spoliés, pour récupérer les marchandises ainsi que le commerce possédés par Lajbus[18]. Moszek Bocian, grâce à son avocat, Mr Fischgrung, parvient à récupérer les marchandises spoliées à Lajbus, le local ne lui est pas rendu, mais il touchera 1000 francs par mois pour sa location.

Aujourd’hui on peut retrouver leurs actes de décès dans le registre du 18ème arrondissement de Paris de juillet 1944 au 21 aout 1944[19] , aux numéros 3404 bis (Joseph), 3405 bis (Henri), 3406 bis (Lajbus) et 3407 bis (Sarah) : leurs noms ayant été rajoutés en 1949, ils sont manuscrits, dans la marge, et sont des « bis » : comme tous les déportés du convoi 77, ils n’ont pas de vraie place dans les registres, et sont « décédé[s] à Drancy le 31 juillet 1994 ».

[1] Rapport des Renseignements Généraux de la section des étrangers, du 10 juin 1943, dossier Ia135 n°16812 de la Préfecture de Police de Paris

[2] La Pologne est divisée de 1772 à 1918 entre l’Empire russe, la Prusse et l’Autriche, Strycow se situant dans la partie russe depuis 1795. En 1920, la Pologne vient de retrouver son indépendance (juin 1919, petit traité de Versailles) et demeure dans un rapport conflictuel avec la Russie, puisque la guerre soviéto-polonaise débute peu après (1919-1921).  Après les invasions allemandes, slovaques puis russes en 1939, le pays est de nouveau partagé. Ainsi, Lajbus et Sarah sont nés en territoire russe, redevenu polonais puis russe une nouvelle fois, ce qui explique certaines difficultés administratives à venir.

[3] Certificat du consulat de Russie, 24 mars 1920, dossier Ia135, Ibid.

[4] Douzaine de rapports de la Préfecture de Police, entre le 10 avril 1920 et mai 1921, dossier Ia135, Ibid.

[5] Acte n°2212, registre 18M542, Etat civil, Archives de Paris

[6] Dossier Ia135, Ibid.

[7] Acte n°4903, registre 18D374, Etat civil, Archives de Paris

[8] Rapport des Renseignements Généraux de la section des étrangers, du 10 juin 1943, dossier Ia135, arch.cit.k

[9] 48ème diapositive, rapport du 14 mai 1941, de MIC/AJ/38/891, Archives Nationales

[10] 21ème diapositive, rapport du 18 novembre 1942 du Commissariat Général aux Questions Juives, de MIC/AJ/38/891, Ibid.

[11] 34ème diapositive de MIC/AJ/38/891, Ibid.

[12] Rapport des renseignements généraux du 10 juin 1943, « ancien commerçant en confection pour hommes, 136 avenue Michelet à Saint Ouen, l’intéressé travaille chez lui depuis près d’un an, en qualité de tailleur pour la maison Fagenbaum », dossier Ia135, arch.cit.

[13] Dossier Ia135, Ibid.

[14] Ils n’entrent pas dans le camp, et n’ont donc pas de numéro de matricule

[15] Archives de Bad Arolsen

[16] Dossier FRAN107_F_9_5714_190879_L, archives du Mémorial de la Shoah

[17] Dossiers 63.873, 63.874, 63.875 et 63.876, Archives du Service Historique de la Défense, Caen

[18] Actes n°12098 registre 1994W7 et n°8172 registre 47W74, Ordonnance de restitution des biens spoliés, Archives de Paris

[19] Registre 18D397, Etat civil, Archives de Paris

Lajbus Manowicz 1920 photo demande CNI

Contributeur(s)

Alice Duchesnes, sous la direction de la Professeure Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2018 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?