SEILER HUGO

1890 - 1944 | Birth: , | Arrest: , | Residence: , , , ,

BIOGRAPHY of HUGO SEILER

The adjacent photo is of Hugo SEILER with his son-in-law, Mr. Dantzer (an Alsatian Christian), Dantzer’s sister-in-law, Mathilde Dantzer, and one of Hugo’s grandaughters at her christening in 1942.

Hugo SEILER was born in July 19, 1890 in Vienna, Austria into a Jewish family whose paternal branch came from Koloméa in Galicia (now in Ukraine), the maternal branch coming from Nikolsburg, the German name of Mikulov, today a town in the Czech Republic. His parents had four sons, of which Hugo was the second.

At the age of 16 he was apprenticed to his father, who then ran a dyer’s shop. Three years later he obtained his apprentice’s certificate. He then left to do his military service in 1911 and was inducted during the First World War. He was sent to the Russian front. Demobilized, he married Berthe Turkel in the synagogue of the Vienna garrison in October, 1918. They had a daughter Rose in 1920.
His wife’s family came from Lemberg, the Austrian name of the Galician capital up until the Great War. It is now Lviv in Ukraine. There they ran a café, “The American Café”. They fled the Russian advance all the way to Vienna. Berthe was born in Czernowitz, the Austrian name of Tchernivtsi in present-day Ukraine.

Between 1920 and 1923 Hugo took up the jute trade; he was sent by his employers to take over the management of a jute factory in Port Saïd, Egypt, whence he was expelled by the English for being Austrian.

In 1924 the small family took up residence with Berthe’s father in Alsace, where her brother had found work.
Berthe’s father died in 1936.

In Mulhouse, at the age of 34, Hugo started over from zero, training from 1925 to 1930 to be an engraver. As the work didn’t suit him, however, he ended up taking a job as a sales agent in the confectionery business from 1930 to 1939.

He crisscrossed Alsace at the wheel of his car with his samples while his wife opened a boarding house for Polish Jews studying at the Mulhouse School of Chemistry.

In November 18, 1939, under the provisions of the decree on the measures to be taken toward individuals dangerous to national defense, Hugo, Berthe, and Rose were labeled “enemy nationals”.

In September Hugo was imprisoned in the fortress of Langres, but thanks to the intervention of Mr. Wagner, the mayor of Mulhouse, he was released two months later. He was put under house arrest in Nîmes, far from the border, and he, his wife, and his daughter were all three compelled to sign in at the police station twice a week.
Berthe had to close her boarding house, as the Polish and Austrian parents of the students could no longer cover their children’s expenses after 1938. Hugo was forbidden to work and their resources melted.
In the midst of preparing to move to Nîmes on December 15, 1939 his wife was handed an order by a policeman requisitioning all their possessions. She suffered a stroke in front of her daughter and died the next day in the Mulhouse hospital. She was 47 years old.
The police chief gave Hugo a leave of two days to go and bury his wife in the Jewish cemetery of Mulhouse and come back with his daughter and her luggage.

On June 10, 1940 Italy entered the war on the side of Germany and Japan; Hugo was reinterned, this time in the prison of Mende in the Lozère department, before being again released.

On November 11, 1942 the Germans invaded the Free Zone. At Romans Hugo was interned in a disaffected factory in horrible conditions. “People slept on a little straw strewn on the floor, there were no doors, no windows”, his daughter says. She was able to get him freed through the intervention of a refugee wine merchant, Monsieur Burkard. She was herself the target of an internment order she received by mail, she rushed to marry a non-Jewish Alsatian in April, 1941. She gave birth to a little girl, Emmy, on October 10, 1942, who was baptized immediately.

On May 19, 1944, she was delivered of a boy, Robert, in St.-Étienne.

Meanwhile, the vise was tightening around Hugo, who was arrested on May 31, 1944 after being denounced by his neighbors for listening to the radio in his flat, or, according to another source, while conversing with some Austrian soldiers garrisoned in Nîmes.

His apartment was given to a Spanish cleaning woman who worked at Gestapo headquarters. His car was confiscated by the Germans. The few possessions he had stashed in a box in the cellar were pillaged.

His daughter’s maternity kept her tied to St.-Étienne, and her inability to do anything for him left her in despair. She herself and her family were also in danger (122 Jews were arrested in St.-Étienne in May).
Hugo was sent to work with a mine-clearing squad at the Nîmes train station, then sent to Drancy, deported in convoy 77, and selected for forced labor upon his arrival.

It is known that he worked on road construction, in a mine, and at the Buna-Monowitz factory. Unusually, there is a mention on the back of his Drancy identity sheet that he was part of the big selection for the gas chamber (block 5) carried out on October 13, 1944.

This selection is described by Primo Levi in his book Si c’est un homme in the chapter titled Octobre 44.
This mention was inscribed by Anne Sussmann, an Austrian Auschwitz survivor who knew Hugo in deportation. Yvette Levy, another survivor, remembers Anne and reports:

“She was engaged in spreading disinformation among the German troops in Lyon for the Résistance. She became pregnant while in the camp and had a miscarriage during roll call. With the complicity of some Lorraine workers she escaped from an arms factory to which she had been sent. It is not unlikely that she and husband knew Hugo, for the Austrians had been gathered together. Her husband survived by a miracle, and they lived for a while in Paris before leaving for Vienna. They were genuine militants for keeping memory alive.”

On her return to Paris she worked at the catalogue of resistance activists and war victims, which gave her access to the Drancy file to which she was able to add the note that informs us of Hugo’s fate. She and her husband died in 1986 and 1987.

This handwritten note was only discovered in 1990 when more intense research was sparked by the work of Serge Klarsfeld and of the FFDJF (Sons and Daughters of French Jews), when a photocopy was made of the data sheet.

Hugo’s daughter Rose long believed her father had died during the great evacuation march in the snow in January 45. A tailor who had survived it had told her so.

Rose Seiler became a French citizen after the war. She has always refused to accept any monetary compensation from Germany despite the precarious situation in which she found herself after her divorce in 1960. She had five children, 14 grandchildren, 12 great-grandchildren, and one great-great-granddaughter named Cléa, as of May 2017.

3500 Austrians, mostly Jews, were deported from France. 200 of them survived.

 

Biography established by Kathy Dantzer-Lalo

Hugo_SEILER_14 18_russian_front
Berthe_Rose_SEILER_baby_1920
Rose_SEILER_4 years old_Vienna
SEILER_passport
SEILER_Drancy record_both sides
Goldscheider_veteran’s_card_SEILER
seiler_the son in law_and_sister in law_1942

Contributor(s)

Kathy Dantzer-Lalo
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

SEILER HUGO

1890 - 1944 | Naissance: , | Arrestation: , | Résidence: , , , ,
seiler_le gendre_et_sa_belle-soeur_1942

BIOGRAPHIE D’ HUGO SEILER

photo ci-contre d’Hugo SEILER avec son gendre Mr Dantzer (Alsacien chrétien), la belle-sœur de celui-ci, Mathilde Dantzer et une petite-fille d’Hugo à son baptême, en 1942.

Hugo SEILER voit le jour le 19 juillet 1890 à Vienne en Autriche, dans une famille juive, la branche paternelle est originaire de Koloméa en Galicie (Ukraine actuelle) et la branche maternelle vient de Nikolsburg, nom allemand de la ville de Mikulov, en Tchéquie aujourd’hui. Ses parents ont eu quatre garçons, Hugo est le deuxième.

A 16 ans il entre en apprentissage chez son père qui tient alors une teinturerie. Après 3 années, il obtient son certificat d’apprentissage. Il part ensuite faire son service militaire en 1911 et est enrôlé pendant la guerre de 14-18. Il est envoyé sur le front russe.  Démobilisé, il épouse Berthe Turkel à la synagogue de la garnison à Vienne en octobre 1918. Ils ont une fille, Rose en 1920.
Les parents et la famille de sa femme venaient de Lemberg, nom autrichien de la capitale de Galicie jusqu’à la guerre de 1914-1918, Lviv en Ukraine à l’heure actuelle, où ils tenaient un café, » le café américain ». Ils ont fui l’avancée des Russes sous les bombardements jusqu’à Vienne. Berthe est née à Czernowitz, nom autrichien de la ville de Tchernivtsi en Ukraine aujourd’hui.

Entre 1920 et 1923, Hugo se lance dans le commerce du jute, il est envoyé par ses employeurs pour prendre la direction d’une usine de jute à Port Saïd en Egypte, il est expulsé par les anglais en tant qu’Autrichien.

En 1924, la petite famille s’exile en Alsace avec le père de Berthe, où le frère de Berthe a trouvé du travail.
En 1936 le père de Berthe décède.

A Mulhouse, à l’âge de 34 ans, Hugo repart de zéro, il suit une formation d’ouvrier graveur de 1925 à 1930, mais, le travail ne lui convenant pas, il se lance finalement comme représentant en confiserie de 1930 à 1939.

Il sillonne l’Alsace au volant de sa voiture avec ses échantillons pendant que sa femme ouvre une pension à Mulhouse pour les étudiants  juifs polonais de l’Ecole de Chimie de Mulhouse.

Le 18 novembre 1939, suite au décret relatif aux mesures à prendre à l’égard des individus dangereux pour la défense nationale, Hugo, Berthe et Rose sont étiquetés « ressortissants ennemis  » et tombent sous le coup de cette loi.

Dès le mois de Septembre, Hugo est emprisonné à la forteresse de Langres, mais grâce à l’intervention du maire de Mulhouse, Mr Wagner, il est relâché 2 mois plus tard. Il sera assigné à résidence à Nîmes, loin de la frontière et astreint ainsi que sa femme et sa fille à signer un registre au commissariat 2 fois par semaine.
Berthe a dû fermer la pension, les parents polonais et autrichiens des étudiants ne pouvant plus subvenir aux besoins de leurs enfants depuis début 38. Leurs ressources diminuent, Hugo ayant l’interdiction de travailler.
Alors qu’elle est en plein déménagement  le 15 décembre 39 pour emmener leurs affaires à Nîmes, sa femme reçoit un ordre de réquisition de tous leurs biens apporté par un gendarme, elle fait un AVC en présence de sa fille  et décède le lendemain à l’hôpital de Mulhouse. Elle meurt à 47 ans.
Hugo a une permission du commissaire de 2 jours pour enterrer sa femme au cimetière israélite de Mulhouse et repartir avec sa fille et ses bagages.

Le 10 Juin 1940, l’Italie entre en guerre aux côtés de l’Allemagne et du Japon, Hugo est ré interné cette fois-ci à la prison de Mende en Lozère puis relâché.

Le 11 novembre 1942 les allemands envahissent la zone libre. A Romans, dans une usine désaffectée, Hugo est interné dans des conditions épouvantables : « les gens dormaient sur un peu de paille par terre, il n’y avait ni portes, ni fenêtres » raconte sa fille. Elle réussit à le faire libérer grâce à l’intervention d’un négociant en vins lui-même réfugié, Monsieur Burkard. Elle-même, visée par un ordre d’internement reçu par la poste, s’est mariée en hâte en avril 41, avec un alsacien non juif. Elle donne naissance à une petite fille, Emmy, le 10 octobre 42, aussitôt baptisée.

L’année suivante, le 19 mai 1944, elle donne naissance à un garçon, Robert, à St Etienne.
L’étau se resserre autour d ‘Hugo, il est arrêté le 31 Mai 1944 sur dénonciation de ses voisins car il écoutait la radio dans son appartement, ou bien comme une autre information le laisse croire,  alors qu’il parlait à des soldats autrichiens en garnison à Nîmes.

Son appartement reviendra à une femme de ménage espagnole qui travaillait à la Gestapo. Sa voiture a été confisquée par les Allemands. Le peu de biens qu’il avait mis en sécurité dans une caisse à la cave a été pillé.

Sa fille retenue par la maternité à St Etienne ne peut rien faire pour lui et est désespérée. Elle-même et sa famille sont en danger, (122 juifs sont arrêtés à St Etienne au mois de Mai).
Hugo est alors employé dans un commando de déminage de la gare de Nîmes, puis envoyé à Drancy, déporté par le convoi 77 et sélectionné pour le travail forcé à l’arrivée.

Nous savons qu’il a travaillé à la construction de routes, dans une mine et à l’usine de Buna-Monowitz. Fait inhabituel, une mention au dos de sa fiche de Drancy nous apprend qu’il a été sélectionné au cours de la grande sélection du 13 Octobre 1944 pour la chambre à gaz (bloc 5).
Cette sélection est décrite par Primo Levi dans son livre «Si c’est un homme» au chapitre Octobre 44.

Cette mention a été portée de la main d’Anne Sussmann, rescapée autrichienne d’Auschwitz, qui a connu Hugo en déportation. Yvette Levy, une autre rescapée se souvient d’Anne et rapporte :

  • « Elle faisait de la désinformation auprès des troupes allemandes à Lyon pour le compte de la résistance. Elle tomba enceinte au camp et fit une fausse couche pendant l’appel. Elle s’est évadée d’une usine d’armement où elle avait été envoyée avec la complicité d’ouvriers lorrains, il est vraisemblable qu’elle et son mari connurent Hugo car les Autrichiens s’étaient regroupés. Son mari survécût par miracle, ils habitèrent quelque temps à Paris puis partirent à Vienne. C’étaient de vrais militants de la mémoire ».
  • A son retour à Paris elle travaille au fichier des résistants et des victimes de guerre, c’est ainsi qu’elle eut accès au fichier de Drancy et put porter cette mention qui nous apprend quel a été le destin d’Hugo. Elle et son mari sont décédés en 1986 et 1987.
  • Cette note manuscrite n’a été découverte qu’en 1990, quand des recherches plus approfondies furent initiées à la suite du travail de Serge Klarsfeld et des FFDJF, à l’occasion de la réalisation d’une photocopie de la dite fiche.
  • La fille d’Hugo, Rose, a longtemps cru que son père mourut au cours de la grande marche d’évacuation dans la neige en Janvier 45. C’est un rescapé, tailleur de son métier, qui le lui avait rapporté.
  • Rose Seiler obtint la nationalité française après-guerre. Elle a toujours refusé de percevoir des réparations pécuniaires de l’Allemagne malgré la situation précaire où elle s’est trouvée après son divorce en 1960. Elle a eu 5 enfants, 14 petits-enfants, 12 arrière-petits-enfants et une arrière-arrière-petite-fille prénommée Cléa, à la date de mai 2017.

3500 Autrichiens ont été déportés depuis la France, en grande majorité des juifs, 200 ont survécu.

 

Biographie établie par Kathy Dantzer-Lalo

Hugo_SEILER_14 18_front_russe
Berthe_Rose_SEILER_bebe_1920
Rose_SEILER_4 ans_Vienne
SEILER_passeport
SEILER_fiche_Drancy_recto_verso
Goldscheider_carte_combattante_SEILER
seiler_le gendre_et_sa_belle-soeur_1942

Contributeur(s)

Kathy Dantzer-Lalo
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?