FENSTERSZAB JANKIEL

1898 - 1944 ? | Birth: , | Arrest: , | Residence: , , ,
Né le 15/10/1898, Jankiel FENSTERSZAB est tailleur. Il vit rue Clavel à Paris 19ème, avec son épouse Chaja Fensterszab et sa fille Ida (future épouse Grinspan). Il arrive à Drancy le 23/07/1944. Il est déporté à Auschwitz par le convoi n°77.

THE BIOGRAPHY OF JANKIEL FENSTERSZAB

Created by a class of 9th grade students/ middle school Charles Péguy/ Palaiseau.

INTRODUCTION

Some family photos, a wedding invitation, a thimble… That is the starting point. The face of Jankiel Fensterszab is already starting to take shape in front of our impatient and curious eyes. Who was he? The memories of his daughter, Ida, have constituted the best elements to connect with Jankiel and to recount a part of his life. These family memories have been the most important material for writing the following biography. They are old and fragmented. We established an imaginary dialogue between Jankiel and Ida to make the memory work and reassemble pieces of his life. To do so, we also allowed ourselves to fill in the blanks of this “perforated” memory with some historic inserts.

1) A Childhood in Poland, in the village of Koprzywnica (1898-1920)

‘Dad, tell me the story of your childhood in Poland please.’

‘ I was born on the 15th of October 1898, in Koprzywnica, a small village betweenLublin and Krakow. It wasn’t a Shtetl, even though there were a lot of Jewish families (about a third of the population) who lived there at the time. We were one of these families. I lived there with my father, Abraham and my mother Maria, and also with my brothers and sisters. We were very happy ; we often met the other families to eat, talk and sing traditional and popular Yiddish songs on the Shabbat for instance.’

POLAND- KOPRZYWNICA

Jankiel was born  in 1898 in a little village of the Russian Empire. At the time of WWI,  when Koprzywnica was located on the front line between Russia and the Austro-Hungarian Empire, the town was devastated and lots of people had to leave the village and their houses. In June  1919, the small town became Polish with the Treaty of Versailles,  which recognized Poland’s independence. In 1920, Koprzywnica had  a population of 2300 inhabitants, which included about 800 Jews.

There was a big synagogue and a big Jewish school, a yeshiva (classes were taught in Hebrew and in Yiddish). Jankiel might have studied in this school because his mother was very religious. In the town, there was also a Jewish cemetery dating from the end of the 19th century.

‘Songs! Songs in Yiddish like « Un as der Rebbe lacht » !’

‘Yes, indeed ! I remember that we would eat tasty ravioli, chopped liver, cheese cakes, apple cakes, borscht, gefilte fish and goat cheese too… As bakers, my parents made all these traditional dishes to perfection.’

‘I do know these dishes too ! Was there a school in Koprzywnica ?’

‘Yes, I attended the town school. I was there until the age of 14. Then, I had to leave school abruptly. My father had died and we did not have enough money to pay the tuition, so I had to work at the bakery with my mother for a little while. Then, I left to be an apprentice tailor. The real advantage was that apprenticeship came with room and board. It was in 1912 and this apprenticeship lasted a few years. After the apprenticeship, I was called for military service because Russia was at war. Since Koprzywnica had become Polish in 1919, I was recruited in the Polish army where I became a corporal.’

THE ARMY

At the end of the war, in 1917-1918, Jankiel was  probably 19 or 20 years old and the front line was a few kilometers away from Koprzywnica. Jankiel had probably been called by the Russian army as the village was occupied by the Russian soldiers. After 1919 (at the time of the Treaty of Versailles) many young men living in regions that had become Polish again incorporated the new Poland and had to change their Russian uniform for a Polish one. Jankiel was photographed as a corporal of the Polish Army.

‘Daddy, tell me about my grandparents.’

‘Unfortunately, I don’t really remember my father; he left us too early. As for my mother, Maria Gitla, you’ve known her a bit. She worked hard at the bakery. She was courageous and she took care of all the children. She cooked very well. She was very religious too. By the way, when she visited us in Paris around 1933, we had to hide to eat ham, do you remember that? She stayed only a short time because she didn’t like life in Paris very much. Fortunately, I have some photographs left. I also remember that my grandfather was a practicing Jew. He had a long white beard and would always dress like a rabbi. All I have from him is a picture that you have already seen.’

Portrait of Maria, my mother, dressed to face the cold winter of Poland

Portrait of my grandfather

1. Grand père de Jankiel Fensterszab, Pologne

Me, wearing the uniform of the Polish Army.

3Jankiel Fensterszab militaire

‘What made you leave your native country in the end?’

‘You have to know, Ida, that at the beginning of the 20th century, poverty and anti-Semitism was spreading in Poland, just as it was spreading in a wide part of central Europe. In 1920, that reason urged me to go into exile to Germany, in Berlin, a free city on the way to the west. It was a staging area for thousands of travelers back then.’

A SPREADING WAVE OF ANTI-SEMITISM IN POLAND IN THE YEARS 1918-1920

At the end of the 19th century, a strong nationalist movement spread throughout Europe and especially in Poland where violent anti-Semitism emerged. At the time of the Polish-Soviet War (1919-1921), the idea was that the Jews were helping the Bolsheviks in their conquest of Poland. A series of Pogroms took place in 1918-1919. This anti-Semitism among the population was accompanied by anti-Semitism within the State. Many Jewish soldiers who were serving the Polish Army were arrested and interned because they were suspected of complicity. After they had been released, many decided to leave Poland. Jankiel might have fled Poland for that reason.

2) Berlin: The Belle Epoque (1920-1923)

‘What did you do when you arrived in Berlin?’

‘First, I could do my job as a tailor! And most importantly, Berlin was the city where I met Chaja, who would later become my wife and then your mom. We had a mutual friend. At the time when we met, we would go out a lot, to the theatre, to concerts. We lived in Berlin where anti-Semitism was not as strong. There were weddings between Jewish and non-Jewish people, a thing that was unthinkable in Poland. There was also an atmosphere of freedom. We liked to walk in the big park of Tiegarten…’

‘I saw a picture of you in that park!’

4. Jankiel FensterszabTiergarten

‘Yes, you have! This photograph was taken in the middle of winter. My friends and I wore our warmest coats. In Berlin, we would go to theaters such as the Kadeko -Kabarett der Komiker (Cabaret of Comedians)-or we would attend fantastic concerts of Klezmer music. Chaja was always very elegant in her Sunday dress. One day, we went to the photographer’s, and she was wearing this very dress. That is the photograph in which she had a three-quarter position, sitting on a wooden armchair.’

‘How elegant you were!’

‘What struck me in Berlin was that the atmosphere was peaceful, people were free, everybody was kissing and obviously happy. Life was pleasant and we were young and carefree. Dinners were regularly organized at our friends’ homes. There, we would laugh, talk about everything or sing Yiddish songs at the top of our lungs. We spent three wonderful years there.’

‘It is also in Berlin that Chaja and you got married, didn’t you? I still have your wedding invitation.’

‘Chaja and I got married in a religious ceremony in 1923, in Berlin, in some friends’ apartment. It did not take place at the synagogue, the rabbi came to give his blessing to us. We mainly got married to please your maternal grandmother. This sweet life didn’t last long because a terrible economic crisis made us leave Berlin. We then set off for Paris.’

THE ECONOMIC CRISIS IN GERMANY

On January 11th 1923, 60.000 French and Belgian soldiers arrived in the Rurh area, in Germany. These troops, which had been occupying the German Rhineland since the end of the Great War, extended their occupation. The value of the deutschmark depreciated rapidly as a high inflation rate together with unemployment occurred in Germany. The Weimar Republic then decided to limit immigration and took measures to exclude undocumented foreigners. This might explain Jankiel’s and Chaja’s departure for France. Jankiel had a Polish passport but he had fled Poland without being registered as a Polish national, even though it was mandatory to do it following the Treaty of Riga of 1921. Since he was born in the Russian territory, he kept his birth nationality. For both the German and French administrations, he was thus considered a “Russian refugee” but without official documents.

3) Family life in Paris (1923-1942)

VISA FROM THE PORTUGUESE CONSULATE

Jankiel entered France in November 1923 without a French visa. His passport, the only document which proved his identity, had a visa from the Portuguese Consulate and it had been made in Berlin. Chaja joined him in Paris on December 9th that same year. She had a Polish passport and a visa from the French Consulate.
‘Between 1923 and 1930, life in Paris was a very happy period, during which we met many people and went out a lot. Chaja and I used to go out quite frequently, especially on evenings. Movies, theater plays and concerts marked our lives ; however, we had already seen a good deal of plays and movies when we were in Berlin.’

‘As the movie “Grine Felder” for instance?’

‘No, Ida. I sometimes have a failing memory but I do remember the movie which made such an impression on you was not released before 1937. Your brother was born in 1924 in Paris, so after that, we did not go out as much as we did in Berlin. We would invite friends to have dinner at our place.  We would throw parties every Sunday and would eat Polish dishes such as the famous bortsch that your mom cooked. We rediscovered the happy habits that we had in Berlin.’

‘I saw the picture of a Sunday Dinner, or maybe it was a Seder meal? There were about 20 people sitting at the table.’

5. Repas de Seder Jankiel Fensterszab

‘Yes, many people were invited. Though we knew fewer people in Paris than we did in Berlin, your mother and I adapted quickly and made new friends. However, speaking French was not that easy for me.That’s why I hired a teacher who taught your brother how to play the violin and taught me how to speak « Molière’s » style. Never did we regret our decision to come to Paris, where the economic crisis was less severe. The French capital was as attractive as a lighthouse at night. When we arrived, we only knew the name of Raymond Poincaré who was the French Prime Minister and who had initiated the Occupation of the Rurh, provoking the economic crisis in Germany.

At that time, we lived at 110 rue Montreuil, in the 11th district of Paris, not far from Place de la Nation. We liked the apartment but we had to move for several reasons. First of all, there were rats in the stairwell! It made your mom scream and each time, she had to ask the janitor to go up the stairs with her because she was so afraid of these rodents. The second and main reason for moving out was that we lacked space. The place was too small for four people.’

‘And you needed even more space since you and mom worked at home…’
‘You’re right. So, in 1936, we moved in at 22 rue Clavel in the 19th district of Paris. In the apartment, there was a big kitchen and 3 bedrooms, and the biggest of these rooms was used as a workshop. Do you remember, Ida? There was not even a bathroom. You had to go to the public shower room. Chaja and I could work late at night in that new place, without any fear of waking up the kids. Your mother was in charge of the buttonholes, and I hand-stitched the shoulder straps; I would not use the sewing machine because it made too much noise. I  worked in peace… being constantly interrupted by the barkeeper of the coffee shop downstairs!

‘Monsieur Jacques, someone’s on the telephone for you!’

‘Exactly! I was “Monsieur Jacques”!’

THE EVOLUTION OF NAMES

Jankiel’s name and surname and their spelling changed according to where the family lived: Jacob Fensterschaub, Monsieur Jacques, Jankiel, Fenstersrab…

His wife, Chaja, became Hélène when they arrived to France.
‘There was always something that the customers wanted me to change on the clothes- alterations that they had forgotten to mention to me in the first place. Your mother and you had to figure out which line of the Paris metro to  take to make the deliveries on time. You often had to deliver at the Louvre Museum or at Chatard’s for example. You both were a great help because I could keep on working at the workshop. Well, I still had to be careful not to disturb our neighbor,  you know, the Armenian, by avoiding whistling for example.’

‘I have two loves, my country and Paris!’

‘Josephine Backer! I used to sing her songs all the time! There was also the song “Voilà les gars de la Marine” which I particularly liked. I wish I had heard these songs in concert! We used to go out a lot… You surely remember that your brother looked after you when we went out.’

‘I do! And I also remember holidays!’

‘We took holidays in Brunoy, a small village not far from Paris. How nice it was to go there for the weekend, when I was not too busy at work. I even tried to learn how to ride a bike during this leisure time. What a failure! I fell, hurt my nose badly and gave up! When we could go on vacation for a longer time, we would go to the beach in Les Sables-d’Olonne… We had a great time with my sister and your cousins. In 1937, we had our first vacation at the sea. We left Les sables-d’Olonne and got on a boat to go to an island. We took a family picture on this boat. I guess it was your uncle who took the picture since he is not in the photograph. In this photograph, I am wearing a cap and I am with your mother, your aunt, your cousins, some friends and you. Your brother is on the side, one can barely see his left arm. He didn’t like to be photographed. Actually, this was your first vacation.  These moments impressed us all. The workers eventually got a paid vacation thanks to Léon Blum and the Popular Front.’

In Les Sables-d’Olonne, 1937

7. Sables dOlonne Jankiel Fensterszab

‘Serviettes everywhere !’

‘You always make the same mistake, Ida. The word is « Soviets », not « serviettes ». In 1936, I went on a few marches near Les Buttes Chaumont, I would carry you on my shoulders. These were not violent street protests, they were just  big gatherings. There, we would make joyful noises and everybody would sing and laugh happily. I would carry you on my shoulders so that you could see through the crowd. At the time, political matters were the main point of discussion and it was at the heart of our lives since Chaja and I actively supported the LICA- Ligue Internationale contre l’antisémitisme (International League against Anti-Semitism)’.

‘And then… Not long afterward, in 1940, I remember that..’

‘Yes, Ida, as things got worse, we tried to keep you safe, by sending you far away, in the countryside to protect you from possible food rationing or from bombs once the Germans were in Paris. We could barely imagine what was going to happen later.

CONCLUSION:

WWII abruptly put an end to their family life, to their full life- meeting new people, cultural experiences, children’s laughter, dinners with family or friends. Ida was entrusted to a wetnurse. She seldom came back to Paris. Chaja was arrested during the 1942 Vel’d’Hiv Roundup. Jankiel and Ida’s brother, Adolphe, hid in Coubron, near Montfermeil. On July 23rd 1944, Jankiel was arrested by the military police. He was interned in Drancy and  was then deported- Convoy 77- to Auschwitz. There were accounts of his presence in the camp, but nobody really knows what happened to him. His life has been erased, as many other lives. There are only some photographs, a wedding invitation and a thimble left…

Jankiel Fensterszab grand mère
Chaja FENSTERSZAB
Fensterszab faire-part
Fensterszab grands magasins du louvre
1. Grand père de Jankiel Fensterszab, Pologne
2. Jankiel Fensterszab adolescent, Pologne jpg
3Jankiel Fensterszab militaire
4. Jankiel FensterszabTiergarten
5. Repas de Seder Jankiel Fensterszab
6. Jankiel Fensterszab Coubron
7. Sables dOlonne Jankiel Fensterszab
8 Jankiel Fensterszab avec femme, fille Ida et fils
Jankiel FENSTERSZAB né le 15 octobre 1898 déporté de Drancy le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77.

Contributor(s)

Claire Podetti, l'équipe enseignante et de nombreux élèves du collège Charles Péguy de Palaiseau
4 Comments
  1. Guivarc'h 2 years ago

    Formidable. Un grand bravo à l’équipe enseignante mais AUSSI aux élèves impliqués dans ce projet.

  2. Add 6 months ago

    Merci pour cet article particulièrement intéressant. Ida Grispan, ancienne déportée d’Auschwitz, s’est décédée le lundi 24 septembre 2018 à l’âge de 89 ans. http://www.avis-de-deces.com/deces-celebrites/2321/Ida-Grinspan

  3. Tomasz 5 months ago

    Hello,
    I live very close to Koprzywnica. I’m 42 years old. Sometimes I try to imagin how that vilage looked before II War when a lot of Jewish families lived there. There is stayed any signs after them. History of your jewish brothers and sisters is very sad and I know the word “sad” is too smoth to describe it. I try to find some information, mainly pictures, maps, where synagogue, school and other buildings were located because no one remeber it. Maybe no one want to remember…I don´t know. If you want to show me our common history just write.
    P.S. I’m sory for my english.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

FENSTERSZAB JANKIEL

1898 - 1944 ? | Naissance: , | Arrestation: , | Résidence: , , ,
Né le 15/10/1898, Jankiel FENSTERSZAB est tailleur. Il vit rue Clavel à Paris 19ème, avec son épouse Chaja Fensterszab et sa fille Ida (future épouse Grinspan). Il arrive à Drancy le 23/07/1944. Il est déporté à Auschwitz par le convoi n°77.

BIOGRAPHIE DE JANKIEL FENSTERSZAB 

Travail réalisé par la classe de 302 / collège Charles Péguy / Palaiseau

 

Introduction 

Quelques photographies de famille, un faire-part de mariage, un dé à coudre… Voici le point de départ. Déjà, un visage, celui de Jankiel Fensterszab, se matérialise devant nos yeux impatients et curieux. Qui était-il ? Les souvenirs de sa fille, Ida, sont les sources les plus riches pour  tisser un lien vers Jankiel et tenter de retracer une partie de sa vie. Ces souvenirs de famille ont été le plus important matériau de ce travail d’écriture biographique. Ils sont anciens, ils sont également partiels. Nous proposons de rétablir un dialogue imaginaire entre Jankiel et Ida, afin que doucement la mémoire travaille et redessine la vie de Jankiel. Nous nous permettons de compléter cette mémoire «trouée» par quelques encarts historiques.

 

1) Une enfance en Pologne, dans le village de Koprzywnica (1898-1920) 

 

– Papa, raconte-moi ton enfance en Pologne s’il-te-plait. 

 

– Je suis né le 15 octobre 1898 à Koprzywnica, un petit village en Pologne près de Lublin et de Cracovie. Ce n’était pas un Shtetl, même si de nombreuses familles juives, près d’un tiers de la population, y vivaient à l’époque. Nous étions une de ces familles. J’y vivais avec mon père, Abraham et ma mère Maria, ainsi qu’avec mes frères et sœurs. Nous étions très heureux, nous nous réunissions souvent pour manger, discuter et chanter des chansons traditionnelles et populaires en yiddish, à l’occasion du shabbat par exemple.

 

POLOGNE – KOPRZYWNICA 

En 1898, Jankiel nait dans un petit village de l’Empire russe. Situé pendant la Première Guerre mondiale sur la ligne de front entre la Russie et l’Empire austro-hongrois, Koprzywnica est ravagée, de nombreux habitants fuient et abandonnent les maisons. En juin 1919, la petite ville devient polonaise avec le traité de Versailles qui reconnaît l’indépendance de la Pologne. En 1920, elle compte environ 2300 habitants, dont un peu plus de 800 Juifs.

Il y a une grande synagogue et une école juive, une Yeshiva (les cours sont en hébreu et en yiddish). Jankiel a peut-être étudié dans cette école  car sa mère était très croyante. On trouve également dans la ville un cimetière juif construit à la fin du XIXe siècle.

 

– Ah mais oui ! Les chansons en yiddish comme « Un as der Rebbe lacht » ! 

 

– Oui, par exemple, effectivement ! Je me souviens que nous dégustions de fameux raviolis au bouillon, des foies hâchés, mais aussi beaucoup de gâteaux, au fromage, aux pommes, puis des bortsch, de la carpe farcie, du fromage de chèvre… En tant que boulangers, mes parents cuisinaient à la perfection tous ces plats traditionnels.

 

– Oui, ces plats, je les connais aussi ! Il y avait une école là-bas ? 

 

– Oui, j’étais à l’école de Koprzywnica. J’y ai été scolarisé jusqu’à l’âge de 14 ans à la Yeshiva du village. Puis j’ai dû arrêter brutalement l’école. Mon père est décédé et nous n’avions plus les moyens de payer les frais de ma scolarité. J’ai donc dû travailler à la boulangerie avec ma mère pendant quelques temps. Ensuite, je suis parti en apprentissage de tailleur. Le vrai avantage était que, quand on était apprenti, on était nourri et logé, donc ça faisait une bouche de moins à nourrir pour ma mère. C’était en 1912 et cet apprentissage a duré quelques années. A l’issue de cette formation, j’ai été appelé au service militaire car la Russie était alors en guerre. Comme Koprzywnica est redevenue polonaise en 1919, j’ai été incorporé dans l’armée polonaise où  je suis devenu caporal.

 

L’ARMEE 

Jankiel a très probablement été mobilisé dans l’armée russe, peut-être à la fin de la guerre, car en 1917-1918, il a 19-20 ans et la ligne de front passe à quelques kilomètres de Koprzywnica. Le village est occupé par les soldats russes. Après 1919 (Traité de Versailles) une grande partie des jeunes hommes habitant les régions redevenues polonaises incorporent la nouvelle polonaise et passent de l’uniforme russe à l’uniforme polonais. C’est en caporal de l’armée polonaise que Jankiel se fait photographier.

 

– Papa, parle-moi de mes grands-parents. 

 

– Malheureusement, je ne me souviens plus vraiment de mon père, qui est parti trop tôt. Quant à ma mère, Maria Gitla, tu l’as un peu connue toi aussi. Elle travaillait dur à la boulangerie. Elle a été courageuse de s’occuper seule de tous ses enfants. Elle cuisinait très bien. Elle était très croyante aussi. D’ailleurs lors de sa visite à Paris, vers 1933, nous devions manger le jambon en cachette, te souviens-tu ? Elle n’est restée que peu de temps, la vie à Paris ne lui convenait pas… Heureusement, j’ai quelques photographies. Je me souviens aussi de mon grand-père qui était un Juif pratiquant. Il avait une longue barbe blanche et s’habillait toujours comme un rabbin. Tout ce qu’il me reste de lui est une photographie que tu as déjà vue.

Portrait de Maria,  ma mère, habillée chaudement pour affronter le froid hiver
polonais

Jankiel Fensterszab grand mère

Portrait de mon  grand père

1. Grand père de Jankiel Fensterszab, Pologne

 

 

Moi en uniforme de l’armée polonaise

3Jankiel Fensterszab militaire

 

– Finalement, pourquoi as-tu quitté ton pays natal ? 

 

– Sache, Ida, qu’au début du XXe siècle, la misère et l’antisémitisme régnaient en Pologne, comme dans une grande partie de l’Europe centrale. En 1920, cela m’a poussé à m’exiler en Allemagne, à Berlin, une ville libre sur le trajet vers l’ouest, zone de transit de milliers de voyageurs.

VAGUE D’ANTISEMITISME EN POLOGNE  DANS LES ANNÉES 1918-1920

A la fin du XIXe siècle, un fort courant nationaliste traverse l’Europe et notamment la Pologne où il s’accompagne d’un violent antisémitisme. Lors de la guerre soviéto-polonaise (1919-21),  s’impose progressivement l’idée dans la population polonaise que les Juifs aident les Bolcheviks dans leurs conquêtes de la Pologne. Une série de pogroms a lieu en 1918-1919. Cet antisémitisme populaire se double d’un antisémitisme d’Etat. De nombreux soldats juifs, servant l’armée polonaise, sont arrêtés et internés, car soupçonnés de complicité. Finalement libérés, nombreux sont ceux qui décident de  quitter la Pologne. Jankiel a peut-être fui la Pologne pour cette raison.

 

2) Berlin : la Belle Epoque (1920-1923) 

 

– Qu’as-tu fait une fois arrivé à Berlin ? 

 

– J’ai d’abord pu y exercer mon métier de tailleur ! Et surtout, c’est dans cette ville que j’ai fait la connaissance de Chaja, qui allait devenir ma femme, et ta maman. Nous avions des amis en commun. Quand nous nous sommes connus, nous sortions beaucoup, allions au théâtre, au concert… A l’époque où nous vivions à Berlin, il y avait beaucoup moins d’antisémitisme, il y avait des mariages mixtes entre Juifs et non Juifs – ce qui n’existait pas en Pologne – et régnait une grande atmosphère de liberté. Nous apprécions aussi nous promener au Tiergarten, ce grand parc…

 

– J’ai vu la photographie ! 

 4. Jankiel FensterszabTiergarten  Chaja FENSTERSZAB

 

Exactement ! Cette photographie a été faite en plein hiver, mes amis et moi portions nos manteaux les plus chauds. Sinon, à Berlin, nous fréquentions les salles de spectacle comme le Kadeko -Kabarett der Komiker-, mais nous allions également écouter  de superbes concerts de musique Klezmer. Chaja était toujours très élégante dans sa robe du dimanche. Un jour, nous étions allés chez un photographe, alors qu’elle portait cette robe, c’est cette photographie où elle pose de trois quarts, assise sur un banc en bois.

 

– Comme vous étiez élégants ! 

 

– A Berlin, ce qui m’a marqué est que l’atmosphère était agréable, les gens étaient libres, tout le monde s’embrassait et évidemment était heureux. La vie était belle et nous étions  jeunes et insouciants. Chez nos amis étaient organisés régulièrement des dîners où on discutait de tout, on riait et on chantait à tue-tête en yiddish. Nous y sommes restés trois ans mais ce furent de merveilleuses années.

 

– C’est aussi à Berlin que vous vous êtes mariés ! J’ai votre faire-part. 

 

– Chaja et moi nous sommes mariés religieusement en 1923, à Berlin, dans l’appartement d’amis. Nous l’avons surtout fait pour faire plaisir à ta grand-mère maternelle. Cela ne s’est pas fait à la synagogue le rabbin est venu nous donner la bénédiction.

Fensterszab faire-part

Cette douce vie n’a pas duré car une importante crise économique nous a poussés à quitter Berlin, Chaja et moi. Nous avons alors pris la route pour Paris.

 

CRISE ECONOMIQUE EN ALLEMAGNE 

Le 11 janvier 1923, 60 000 soldats français et belges pénètrent dans le bassin de la Ruhr, en Allemagne. Ces troupes, qui occupaient la Rhénanie allemande depuis la fin de la Grande Guerre, étendent ainsi leur zone d’occupation. La valeur du mark allemand s’effondre brutalement, une hyperinflation et un chômage important se développent en Allemagne. La République de Weimar limite alors l’immigration et prend des mesures visant à exclure les étrangers qui ne sont pas en possession de documents officiels. Cette dernière raison explique peut être le départ de Jankiel et Chaja vers la France. Jankiel a un passeport polonais mais il a fui la Pologne sans être enregistré comme ressortissant polonais ce qui était obligatoire  après les accords de Riga de 1921. Né en territoire russe, il a donc gardé sa nationalité de naissance. Pour l’administration allemande ou française  il est donc « réfugié russe » mais sans papiers officiels.

 

3) La vie de famille à Paris (1923-1942) 

 

L’ARRIVEE EN FRANCE 

Jankiel entre en France en novembre 1923 sans visa français. Son passeport, seul document attestant de son identité, porte un visa du Consulat du Portugal, fait à Berlin. Chaja le rejoint à Paris le 9 décembre de la même année, avec un passeport polonais et un visa du Consulat de France.

 

– Entre 1923 et la fin des années 1930, la vie à Paris fut une période très heureuse, pleine de rencontres et de sorties. Chaja et moi sortions beaucoup, notamment le soir : cinéma, théâtre, concert rythmaient notre vie. Il y avait toutefois un bon nombre de pièces que nous avions déjà vues à Berlin.

 

– Comme le film « Grine Felder » ? 

 

– Non Ida. Ma mémoire flanche parfois, mais ce film qui t’a tant marqué n’est sorti au cinéma qu’en 1937. A Paris, en 1924, ton frère est né, on sortait donc moins qu’à Berlin, au début. Nous invitions des amis. Tous les dimanches, nous faisions des fêtes, on dégustait des plats polonais comme le fameux bortsch cuisiné par ta maman. Nous retrouvions les joyeuses habitudes berlinoises.

 

– J’ai vu la photographie d’un repas dominical ou peut être un repas de Seder ? Vous étiez au moins 20 à table. 

5. Repas de Seder Jankiel Fensterszab

– Oui, il y avait de nombreux invités. Même si à Paris, nous avions moins de connaissances qu’à Berlin, ta maman et moi nous sommes vite adaptés et faits de nouveaux amis. J’ai toutefois eu un peu de mal avec la langue française… Je prenais des cours de français. Pour cela, j’avais engagé un professeur qui enseignait le violon à ton frère et m’apprenait la langue de Molière. Nous n’avons jamais regretté notre décision de venir à Paris où la crise se faisait bien moins ressentir. La capitale française était attirante comme un phare dans la nuit. En arrivant, nous ne connaissions que le nom de Raymond Poincaré qui dirigeait alors le gouvernement et qui avait procédé à l’occupation de la Ruhr en Allemagne, qui avait provoqué la crise économique en Allemagne.

Nous habitions à cette époque 110 rue Montreuil, dans le onzième arrondissement de Paris, près de la place de la Nation. C’était un appartement que nous appréciions mais nous avons dû déménager pour plusieurs raisons. D’abord, il y avait des rats dans la cage d’escalier ! Cela faisait crier ta maman, elle était obligée de déranger le concierge pour qu’il l’accompagne jusqu’à notre appartement tant elle craignait ces animaux. Ensuite, et c’est la principale cause de notre déménagement, nous manquions de place à cette adresse. L’appartement devenait trop étroit pour quatre personnes.

 

– Surtout que vous y travailliez, maman et toi… 

 

– Absolument. En 1936, nous nous sommes donc installés au 22 rue Clavel, à Paris, dans le 19e arrondissement. Cet appartement possédait une grande cuisine et trois chambres dont la plus grande nous servait d’atelier. Tu te souviens Ida ? Il n’y avait même pas de salle de bain ! Vous alliez aux douches municipales. Dans ce nouveau lieu de vie, nous pouvions travailler tard, Chaja et moi, sans craindre de réveiller les enfants. J’effectuais mes tâches au calme…sans cesse dérangé par la patronne du café d’en bas !

 

 

 

– « Monsieur Jacques, téléphone ! » 

 

– C’est cela ! C’était moi « monsieur Jacques ».

 

LES VARIATIONS ORTHOGRAPHIQUES 

Les noms et prénoms de Jankiel Fensterszab, ainsi que leur orthographe, ont évolué au gré des pays : Jacob Fensterschaub, monsieur Jacques, Jankiel, Fenstersrab…

 

– Il y avait toujours quelque chose que les clients voulaient changer, des retouches qu’ils avaient oubliées de préciser…. Ta maman et toi deviez vous organiser pour savoir quel métro prendre afin que les livraisons soient faites le bon jour. Vous alliez souvent livrer au Louvre par exemple. Vous me rendiez bien service toutes les deux car, ainsi, je n’interrompais pas mon travail. Je faisais tout de même attention à ne pas trop déranger notre voisin, tu sais, l’Arménien, j’arrêtais de siffloter par exemple.

Fensterszab grands magasins du louvre

 

– « J’ai deux amours, mon pays et Paris ! »

 

– Joséphine Backer ! Je la chantais tout le temps ! Il y avait aussi « voilà les gars de la Marine » que j’affectionnais particulièrement. J’aurais aimé entendre ces chansons en concert ! Ah les sorties… ton frère te gardait parfois, tu te rappelles sûrement de cela.

 

– Oui ! Et aussi des vacances. 

 

– A Brunoy, d’abord. Un joli petit village près de Paris. C’était très bien le temps d’un week-end, quand mon travail nous le permettait. Quand nous partions plus longtemps, c’était aux Sables-d’Olonne, la plage, la mer… Nous passions de très bons moments avec ma sœur et tes cousines sur le bateau. Les premières vacances en fait…cela nous a tous marqué. C’est grâce à Léon Blum et au Front Populaire que les travailleurs avaient enfin droit à un peu de repos.

Les Sables d’Olonne 1937

7. Sables dOlonne Jankiel Fensterszab

– « Les serviettes partout ! » 

 

Tu t’es toujours trompée Ida…il s’agissait de « soviets » plus que de « serviettes ». Durant l’année 1936, je descendais aux grandes manifestations, toi sur les épaules. C’étaient de grands rassemblements, pas du tout des manifestations colériques pour se plaindre. Nous clamions notre joie, c’était euphorique, tout le monde chantait et riait. Je te prenais sur mes épaules pour que tu puisses apercevoir quelque chose à travers toute cette foule. A cette époque, la politique était au cœur de nos discussions et même de notre vie, puisque Chaja et moi militions activement pour la LICA –Ligue Internationale Contre l’Antisémitisme-.

 

Conclusion 

La Seconde Guerre mondiale met brutalement fin à la vie de famille, à cette vie riche de rencontres, d’expériences, de sorties culturelles, de rires d’enfants, de réunions familiales ou amicales. Ida est placée dans les Deux-Sèvres chez une nourrice. Elle ne revient que rarement sur Paris. Chaja est arrêtée lors de la rafle du Vel d’Hiv en juillet 1942. Jankiel et Adoplhe se cachent à Coubron près de Montfermeil. Le 23 juillet 1944, Jankiel est arrêté par la milice. Interné à Drancy il est déporté à Auschwitz, par le convoi 77.  Ida, a reçu des témoignages indiquant sa présence dans le camp. Nul ne sait vraiment ce que Jankiel est devenu, une vie effacée comme tant d’autres, dont il ne reste que quelques photographies de famille, un faire-part de mariage ou un dé à coudre…

Jankiel Fensterszab grand mère
Chaja FENSTERSZAB
Fensterszab faire-part
Fensterszab grands magasins du louvre
1. Grand père de Jankiel Fensterszab, Pologne
2. Jankiel Fensterszab adolescent, Pologne jpg
3Jankiel Fensterszab militaire
4. Jankiel FensterszabTiergarten
5. Repas de Seder Jankiel Fensterszab
6. Jankiel Fensterszab Coubron
7. Sables dOlonne Jankiel Fensterszab
8 Jankiel Fensterszab avec femme, fille Ida et fils
Jankiel FENSTERSZAB né le 15 octobre 1898 déporté de Drancy le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77.

Contributeur(s)

Claire Podetti, l'équipe enseignante et de nombreux élèves du collège Charles Péguy de Palaiseau
1 commentaire
  1. Guivarc'h 7 mois ago

    Formidable. Un grand bravo à l’équipe enseignante mais AUSSI aux élèves impliqués dans ce projet.

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2018 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?