Jacques GUGENHEIM

1907-1945 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence: , ,

Jacques GUGENHEIM

Jacques Gugenheim was born on October 8, 1907 in Quatzenheim (German Alsace), today in the Alsatian department of the Bas-Rhin. He was the son of Rabbi (later to be Chief Rabbi) Max Gugenheim (1887-1968) and his cousin Marta Meier, born in the Swiss town of Baden, who died in 1920, just before Jacques’s Bar-Mitsva. He had three younger siblings: Alice (1908-1965) – the wife of Achille Blum,  Blanche – the wife of Noé Gottlieb, and Ernest (1916-1977) – the husband of Claude-Annie Dalsace, future chief rabbi and director of the Israelite Seminary of France and vice-president of the Beth Din in Paris.

Jacques Gugenheim descended in direct line from several generations of rabbis dating back to the beginning of the 18th century in Alsace1. He was a student at the Bouxwiller High School in the Bas-Rhin department up to graduation. From 1929 he was a teacher2 at the Israelite elementary school in Ingwiller (Bas-Rhin).

In October, 1932 Jacques Gugenheim was inducted into the 150th infantry regiment. Promoted to corporal, he was transferred to the 23rd infantry regiment. He was demobilized on October 5, 1933. He was living at n° 25 rue des Serruriers in Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin) when he was called up again on August 26, 1939 and assigned to the Railway Mobilization Center in the station at Peltre (Moselle department). Taken prisoner at an unknown date and place, he was demobilized at Bitray (Indre department) on July 1, 1942.3

Unmarried, he joined his parents who had fallen back to Vichy (Allier department), where his father, who had been a rabbi in Bouxwiller before the war, was appointed to the Consistory. The Gugenheim family resided at n° 104 rue Nationale in Vichy.

On February 16, 1944 Jacques was arrested in Paris. The reason for his presence in the Occupied Zone is not known.
He was charged with “using a false French I.D. card (law of October 27, 1940, article 7), and tardiness in declaring his Judaism (law of June 6, 1941)”. He was jailed in the prison of La Santé in Paris.

The admission register of the Haut-Clos Penitentiary in Troyes records that he was sentenced in February, 1944 to six months in prison by the 10th Chamber of the Seine department’s (Paris) Criminal Court for having transgressed the laws of October 27, 1940 and of October, 1941. He was transferred on May 12, 1944 to the Haut-Clos Penitentiary in Troyes (Aube department). He was one of the prisoners sent to work in the Cravant underground factory of the Todt organization in the nearby Yonne department, in the former Palotte stone quarry, where German fighter planes damaged in combat were repaired.4

Jacques escaped on June 7, 1944. Rearrested, he was transferred on July 26th to Drancy, where he was attributed the I.D. n° 25977.

He was deported on July 31st from Drancy to Auschwitz. Selected for work duty, he was evacuated from Auschwitz to Dachau, where he arrived on January 28, 1945. There he was given the I.D. number 139268 under the name of Charles . According to the Drancy file on adults (copy in the Mémorial du Shoah) Jacques was an elementary school teacher in Vichy at the time of his arrest and he had 199 francs on him (search notebook).
According to his Individual Bulletin in the July 3, 1942 inventory of professional activity, a special form designed for repatriated prisoners, Jacques put himself down as a public elementary school teacher giving private lessons at home.

On August 16, 1994 the late Rabbi Daniel Gottlieb, the son of Jacques’ sister Blanche, filled out a testimonial sheet at Yad Vachem to the memory of his Uncle Jacques. On March 20, 1997 Monsieur Henri Cahen, honorary president of the Israelite Cultural Association of Troyes, also filled out a memory form.

Jacques died at Dachau sometime around February, 1945.5 Daniel Gottlieb specified the date of February 12th in his testimony at Yad Vashem.

Family tradition (perhaps from testimony by a surviving deportee) holds that Jacques died of typhus , like so many other deportees at Dachau.

Biography authored by Chief Rabbi Alexis Blum, Jacques Gugenheim’s nephew.

Jacques Gugenheim on the right, with his sister Alice
Jacques Gugenheim (1)
Jacques Gugenheim on the right, with his two sisters, his brother, his stepmother and an unidentified girl

Contributor(s)

Alexis Blum

References

  • (1) Dictionnaire biographique des rabbins et autres ministres du culte israélite, France et Algérie du Grand Sanhédrin (1807) à la Loi de Séparation (1905) sous la direction de Jean- Philippe Chaumont et Monique Lévy. Berg international Editeurs Paris 2007 pp.323 et 324.
  • (2) Alfred Uhry, l'école primaire israélite d’Ingwiller et Jean Daltroff Histoire des Juifs d'Ingwiller du Moyen-Age à nos jours.In site du judaïsme d'Alsace et de Lorraine : http://judaisme.sdv.fr//
  • (3) Archives départementales de l'Allier 756 WI
  • (4) L'usine souterraine aéronautique de Cravant au cœur de la guerre 1939-45.

Links

0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Jacques GUGENHEIM

1907-1945 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: , ,
Jacques Gugenheim (1)

Biographie de Jacques Gugenheim.

Jacques Gugenheim est né le 8 octobre 1907 à Quatzenheim en Alsace allemande, aujourd’hui dans le Bas-Rhin. Il est le fils du rabbin (plus tard grand rabbin) Max Gugenheim (1877-1968) et de sa cousine Marta Meier née à Baden en Suisse, et décédée en 1920, juste avant sa bar mitsva. Il est l’aîné de 4 enfants : Alice (1908-1965) – épouse d’Achille Blum –, de Blanche – épouse de Noé Gottlieb – et d’Ernest (1916-1977) – époux de Claude-Annie Dalsace – et futur grand rabbin, directeur du Séminaire israélite de France et vice-président du Beth Din de Paris.

Jacques Gugenheim descend en ligne directe de générations de rabbins remontant au début du 18e siècle en Alsace (1). Il est élève du Collège de Bouxwiller (Bas-Rhin) jusqu’au baccalauréat. A partir de 1929, il est instituteur (2) à l’école primaire israélite d’Ingwiller (Bas-Rhin).

Jacques Gugenheim est incorporé en octobre 1932 au 150e régiment d’infanterie. Nommé caporal, il passe au 23e régiment d’infanterie. Il est démobilisé le 5 octobre 1933. Il est domicilié 25 rue des Serruriers à Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin), quand il est rappelé le 26/08/39 et affecté au Centre Mobilisateur du Train en gare de Peltre (Moselle). Fait prisonnier en un lieu et à une date inconnus, il est démobilisé à Bitray (Indre) le 1er juillet 1942 (3).

Célibataire, il rejoint ses parents repliés à Vichy (Allier) où son père, rabbin avant-guerre à Bouxwiller a été nommé par le Consistoire. La famille Gugenheim est domiciliée 104 rue Nationale à Vichy.

Le 16 février 1944, Jacques est arrêté à Paris. On ignore la raison de sa présence en zone occupée.
Il est inculpé « d’usage de faux en matière de carte d’identité française (loi du 27/10/1940 article 71), et de déclaration tardive de qualité juive (loi du 2/6/1941) ». Il est alors interné à la prison de La Santé à Paris.

Selon le registre d’écrou du Centre Pénitentiaire du Haut-Clos de Troyes, il est condamné en février 1944 à 6 mois de prison par le Tribunal Correctionnel de la Seine (10e Chambre) pour infraction aux lois du 27/10/40 et du 10/1941. Il est transféré le 12 mai 1944 au Centre Pénitentiaire du Haut Clos à Troyes (Aube). Il fait partie des détenus envoyés pour travailler dans le cadre de l’organisation Todt à l’usine souterraine de Cravant dans l’Yonne à la carrière de Palotte, où sont réparés les avions de chasse allemands endommagés au combat (4).

Jacques s’évade le 7 juin 1944. Arrêté de nouveau, il est transféré le 26 juillet à Drançy où il reçoit le matricule n° 25977.

Il est déporté le 31 juillet de Drançy à Auschwitz. Sélectionné pour le travail, il est évacué d’Auschwitz vers Dachau où il arrive le 28 janvier 1945. Il y reçoit le matricule 139268 sous le prénom de Charles. D’après le fichier de Drançy adultes (copie au Mémorial de la Shoah) Jacques était instituteur et domicilié à Vichy lors de son arrestation et en possession de 199 francs français (carnet de fouille).
D’après le Bulletin individuel du 3/7/42 du recensement des activités professionnelles, modèle spécial destiné aux prisonniers rapatriés, Jacques s’est déclaré instituteur public donnant des cours privés à domicile.

Le 16/08/1994 le regretté rabbin Daniel Gottlieb, fils de Blanche – sœur de Jacques – a rempli une feuille de témoignage à Yad Vachem à la mémoire de son oncle Jacques.
Le 20/03/1997 M.Henri Cahen, président honoraire de l’Association cultuelle israélite de Troyes a également rempli une feuille de témoignage.

Jacques est décédé à Dachau aux environs de février 1945 (5). Daniel Gottlieb a précisé la date du 12 février dans sa feuille de témoignage à Yad Vashem.

La tradition familiale (peut-être témoignage d’un déporté survivant) a retenu que Jacques était mort du typhus comme de nombreux déportés à Dachau.

Biographie rédigée par Alexis Blum, Grand Rabbin, neveu de Jacques Gugenheim

À droite Jacques Gugenheim avec sa sœur Alice
Jacques Gugenheim (1)
Jacques Gugenheim à droite avec ses deux sœurs, son frère, sa belle-mère et une inconnue

Contributeur(s)

Alexis Blum

References

  • (1) Dictionnaire biographique des rabbins et autres ministres du culte israélite, France et Algérie du Grand Sanhédrin (1807) à la Loi de Séparation (1905) sous la direction de Jean- Philippe Chaumont et Monique Lévy. Berg international Editeurs Paris 2007 pp.323 et 324.
  • (2) Alfred Uhry, l'école primaire israélite d’Ingwiller et Jean Daltroff Histoire des Juifs d'Ingwiller du Moyen-Age à nos jours.In site du judaïsme d'Alsace et de Lorraine : http://judaisme.sdv.fr//
  • (3) Archives départementales de l'Allier 756 WI
  • (4) L'usine souterraine aéronautique de Cravant au cœur de la guerre 1939-45.

Liens

Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?