Hanna LEVY

1868 - 1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Biography of Hanna Levy, née Torres, researched and written by ten 9th-grade students in the Saint-Exupéry junior high school in Parentis-en-Born (Landes department), under the supervision of their teachers, Mss. Croharé, Guédé, Laudignon, and MacLuckie .

I)  Hanna’s life before the war

 

Hanna Antonia Levy was born in Bordeaux on March 5, 1866. She was the daughter of Abraham Torres and Noémie Léon and belonged to the Jewish community of Portuguese origin. Her father worked in trade, and her mother was probably a housewife. On August 11, 1887 she married Joseph Levy (born November 26, 1860), a railroad employee who died on November 25, 1935. The couple had three children: Aaron, born in 1889 but deceased at the age of three months, Abraham Raoul, born in 1894, died in 1978, and their last child, Salomon Abelard, born in 1899, died in 1983. The family moved several times around in Bordeaux. Abraham became a saddler and married Thérèse Boizet in 1920. Salomon Abelard married Anna Elisabeth Dupuy in 1928. He was a carter and knew how to ride a horse. Hanna’s sons both had a level 3 education, meaning they had reached a relatively advanced degree of elementary education.

Hanna was a homemaker, which explains why she left so few traces besides her official civil status.

 

II)  Hanna’s life during the German Occupation

After France’s defeat by Germany Hanna and her family were living in the Occupied Zone. According to the decree of October 29, 1940 on the status of the Jews, Hanna and Raoul had to register. They were among the first to do so, as is shown by their registration numbers 178 and 179. Starting in June 1942 Hanna and her sons had to wear the Jewish yellow star badge. Raoul tried to convince the German authorities that because his wife was a Catholic his children were not Jewish. His request was considered by the Prefect of the Gironde department, who in March of 1943 ordered Raoul’s wife and their two children to be struck from the register of Jews in Bordeaux’s 10th district. This acknowledgement was to spare them all the discriminatory measures that were to befall the Jews of France.

At the height of the policy of collaboration Hanna and her sons escaped the Roundup of January 10, 1944, in which 400 Jews from the Bordeaux area were arrested and interned in the Grand Synagogue of Bordeaux, transformed into a prison by the Nazi authorities.

Hanna lived at n° 62 Passage Birly when she was arrested at home. Witnesses reported her disappearance during the night of the 4th to the 5th of February, 1944. She was interned in the Mérignac-Beaudésert camp located about eleven kilometers from Bordeaux. More than a thousand two hundred people, both French and foreign, transited through this camp. They were mostly resistance fighters, political prisoners, men dodging the STO (forced labor service), and Jews.  The prisoners lived in precarious conditions in huts or mobile homes. She was afterwards transferred to Drancy on May 14, 1944 in convoy  21 942, where she remained several months before being sent in convoy 77 on July 31, arriving in Auschwitz on August 5, 1944, the official date of her death. Hanna probably died during the trip, which took place in inhuman conditions that would have been difficult for a 78-year-old woman to survive. Alternatively, she may have survived the terrible journey to be gassed upon arrival at the extermination camp because of her age and consequently “unproductive” potential.

In 1953, thanks to steps undertaken with the French authorities by her son Raoul, she was officially recognized as a political deportee.

 

Contributor(s)

9th-grade students at the Saint-Exupéry junior high school (middle school) in Parentis-en-Born (Landes department) under the supervision of their teachers, Mss. Croharé, Guédé, Laudignon, and MackLuckie.

References

  • – Archives of the Greater Bordeaux Area – Departmental Archives of the Gironde Department – Guided visit of the Grand Synagogue of Bordeaux – Memorial Site of the Shoah – Peter GAIDA: Le camp d’internement de Mérignac 1940-1944, Lulu Press, Incorporated, 2014 – ONAC, exhibition on the Jews of France during the Occupation
dav
33726_Hanna_LEVY_acte_mariage
33726_Hanna_LEVY_temoin

Contributor(s)

élèves de 3e du collège Saint-Exupéry de Parentis-en-Born (Landes), encadrés par Mmes Croharé, Guédé, Laudignon et Mac Luckie (enseignantes)

References

  • - Archives de Bordeaux Métropole - Archives départementales de Gironde - Visite guidée de la grande synagogue de Bordeaux - Site mémorial de la Shoah - Peter GAIDA, Le camp d’internement de Mérignac 1940-1944, Lulu Press, Incorporated, 2014 - ONAC, exposition sur les Juifs de France durant l’occupation
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Hanna LEVY

1868 - 1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:
dav

Biographie d’Hanna Levy, née Torres, réalisée par dix élèves de 3e du collège Saint-Exupéry de Parentis-en-Born (Landes), encadrés par Mmes Croharé, Guédé, Laudignon et Mac Luckie (enseignantes)

 

I)                  La vie d’Hanna avant la guerre

 

Hanna, Antonia Levy est née le 5 mars 1866 à Bordeaux. Hanna était la fille de Abraham Torres et de Noémie Léon et elle appartenait à la communauté juive d’origine portugaise. Son père était employé de commerce et sa mère probablement mère au foyer. Elle s’est mariée le 11 août 1887 avec Joseph Levy (né le 26 novembre 1860), ce dernier était employé au chemin de fer et est mort le 25 novembre 1935. Le couple a eu trois enfants : Aaron en 1889 mais il est décédé à trois mois ; Abraham Raoul né en 1894 et mort en 1978, leur dernier enfant se nomme Salomon Abelard, né en 1899 et décédé en 1983. La famille a déménagé plusieurs fois tout en restant toujours à Bordeaux. Abraham est devenu sellier et il s’est marié en 1920 avec Thérèse Boizet. Salomon Abelard s’est marié en 1928 avec Anna Elisabeth Dupuy, il était charretier et savait donc monter à cheval. Les fils d’Hanna avaient tous les deux atteint un niveau d’étude 3, c’est-à-dire qu’ils avaient un niveau d’instruction primaire relativement élevé.

Hanna était sans profession, ce qui explique qu’elle ait laissé peu de traces d’elle, hormis à l’état civil.

 

II)              La vie d’Hanna sous l’occupation allemande

 

Après la défaite de la France contre l’Allemagne, Hanna et ses proches vivaient dès lors en zone occupée. En vertu de l’ordonnance du 20 octobre 1940 sur le statut des Juifs, Hanna et Raoul ont dû se faire recenser. Ils font partie des premiers à le faire puisque leurs numéros d’ordre d’enregistrement sont 178 et 179. A partir de juin 1942, Hanna et ses fils ont dû porter l’insigne juif (l’étoile jaune). Raoul a essayé de convaincre les autorités allemandes que ses enfants n’étaient pas juifs car sa femme était catholique. Sa requête a été entendue par le Préfet de la Gironde : en mars 1943 ce dernier a ordonné que la femme de Raoul et leurs deux enfants soient radiés des registres des Israélites du 10 ème arrondissement de Bordeaux. Cette reconnaissance leur a épargné toutes les mesures discriminatoires qui s’abattaient alors sur les Juifs de France.

Alors que la politique de collaboration atteignait son paroxysme, Hanna et ses fils ont échappé à la Rafle du 10 Janvier 1944 durant  laquelle quatre cent Juifs de l’agglomération bordelaise ont été arrêtés et parqués dans la Grande Synagogue de Bordeaux, transformée par les autorités nazies en prison.

Hanna habitait au 62 passage Birly lorsqu’elle a été arrêtée à son domicile, des témoins ont signalé sa disparition dans la nuit du 4 au 5 février 1944. Elle est internée dans le camp de Mérignac-Beaudésert à environ onze kilomètres de Bordeaux. Plus de mille deux cent personnes, françaises et étrangères, ont transité comme elle dans ce camp. Il s’agissait avant tout de résistants, d’internés politiques, de réfractaires au STO et de Juifs. Les détenus vivaient dans des baraquements ou des caravanes, supportant des conditions de vie précaires. Par la suite, elle est transférée à Drancy le 14 mai 1944 par le convoi 21 942,  y a séjourné quelques mois avant de prendre le convoi 77 qui est parti le 31 juillet  et est arrivé à Auschwitz le 5 août 1944, date officielle de son décès. Il est probable qu’Hanna soit morte durant le trajet, qui se déroulait dans des conditions inhumaines et donc difficilement supportables pour une personne de soixante-dix-huit ans. On peut aussi supposer qu’elle ait survécu à ce terrible trajet et qu’elle ait été gazée dès son arrivée dans le camp d’extermination en raison de son grand âge et de son caractère « improductif ».

 

Elle est reconnue déportée politique en 1953 grâce aux démarches engagées par son fils Raoul auprès des autorités françaises.

 

 

dav
33726_Hanna_LEVY_acte_mariage
33726_Hanna_LEVY_temoin

Contributeur(s)

élèves de 3e du collège Saint-Exupéry de Parentis-en-Born (Landes), encadrés par Mmes Croharé, Guédé, Laudignon et Mac Luckie (enseignantes)

References

  • - Archives de Bordeaux Métropole - Archives départementales de Gironde - Visite guidée de la grande synagogue de Bordeaux - Site mémorial de la Shoah - Peter GAIDA, Le camp d’internement de Mérignac 1940-1944, Lulu Press, Incorporated, 2014 - ONAC, exposition sur les Juifs de France durant l’occupation
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?