Jacob HOPENSZTAND

1934 - 1944 | Birth: , | Arrest: , | Residence: ,

Sketch for a biography of Jacob Hopensztand, for whom we have no photo, but whose memory is honored by Paul Curtz.

 

Jacob HOPENSZTAND was born on March 31, 1934 at 35 rue Doudeauville in the 18th district of Paris. He was the only child of Abram HOPENSZTAND, born in Warsaw on August 15, 1896, and of Szyfra HOPENSZTAND neé Arbès, born in Warsaw on May 20, 1906, housewife.

Before the war the family lived at 19 rue des Rasselins in the 20th district.

During the war Jacob and his parents lived at 12 Passage Gambey in the 11th district. The author of this biography specifies that Abram, Jacob’s father, had attempted and perhaps managed to join the Polish army.

The family was arrested in the roundup of the Vel d’Hiv on July 16-17, 1942. While his parents were deported with no return, young Jacob was freed on February 13, 1943. Ill with tuberculosis, he was sent to Montgeron after being assigned to the Centre Lamarck of the UGIF (General Union of the Israelites of France).

He arrived in theVarenne UGIF center at 57 rue Georges Clemenceau in la Varenne-St-Hilaire at the end of 1943. Paul Curtz, who wrote this biography, was already there since the beginning of that year. The only two boys in the centre, they were enrolled together in the school on the rue Léon Maurice. Their teacher, Gilberte Chéry, was twenty years old. For his tenth birthday on March 31, 1944 Jacob was given four biscuits instead of the usual two.

The “liberation” sheet reproduced below throws some light on Jacob’s two passages at Drancy.

He was arrested on July 23, 1944 and deported with no return to Auschwitz-Birkenau.

He had two big brown apprehensive doe eyes.

civil-status-Jakob-Hopensztand
002-liberation-sheet-hopensztand-jacob

Contributor(s)

Paul Curtz

References

  • 1. Etat Civil, mairie de Paris
  • 2. Fiche libération hopensztand jacob
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Vous êtes enseignant.e

PARTICIPEZ AVEC VOTRE CLASSE, À NOTRE RENCONTRE INTERNATIONALE !  

Le 27 janvier 2021, au Palais de l’Élysée, à Paris

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Jacob HOPENSZTAND

1934 - 1944 | Naissance: , | Arrestation: , | Résidence: ,
etat-civil-Jakob-Hopensztand

Biographie esquissée pour Jacob Hopensztand, pour qui nous n’avons pas de photo, mais dont Paul Curtz honore la mémoire.

 

Jacob HOPENSZTAND naît le 31 mars 1934, au 35 de la rue Doudeauville, dans le XVIII° arrondissement de Paris. Il est l’enfant unique de d’Abram HOPENSZTAND, né à Varsovie en Pologne le 15 août 1896, et de Szyfra Arbès épouse HOPENSZTAND, née à Varsovie le 20 mai 1906, sans profession.

Avant-guerre, la famille vit au 19, rue des Rasselins, dans le XXème.

Pendant la guerre, Jacob et ses parents habitent au 12 Passage GAMBEY dans le XIème arrondissement. L’auteur de la biographie précise qu’Abram, le père de Jacob, avait tenté et peut-être réussi à s’engager dans l’armée polonaise.

La famille est arrêtée lors de la rafle du Vel d’Hiv, le 16 ou le 17 juillet. Alors que ses parents sont déportés sans retour, le jeune Jakob est relâché le 13 février 1943 : tuberculeux, il est envoyé à Montgeron, après avoir été affecté au Centre Lamarck (UGIF).

Il arrive au Centre UGIF de la Varenne, au 57 rue Georges Clémenceau, à la Varenne St Hilaire, fin 1943. L’auteur de cette biographie, Paul Curtz, s’y trouvait déjà depuis le début de cette année 1943. Ensemble, les deux, et seuls, garçons de ce centre ont été scolarisés à l’école de la rue Léon Maurice,  dont la maîtresse, Gilberte Chéry avait vingt ans. Pour ses dix ans, il a droit, le 31 mars 1944, à quatre biscuits au lieu de deux.

La fiche de « libération » reproduite ci-dessous donne un éclairage sur les deux passages de Jacob à Drancy.

Il est arrêté le 23 juillet 1944 et est déporté sans retour vers Auschwitz Birkenau.

Il avait de grands yeux marron de biche craintive.

etat-civil-Jakob-Hopensztand
002-fiche-liberation-hopensztand-jacob

Contributeur(s)

Paul Curtz

References

  • 1. Etat Civil, mairie de Paris
  • 2. Fiche libération hopensztand jacob
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?