Laure COHEN née TAÏEB

1895 - 1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence: , ,

The shattered life of Laure Cohen

(opposite: photo of her marriage license)

 

 

by Danielle Laguillon Hentati

Honorary Professor of Italian and author honored with the Palmes académiques

 

 

Even though it was a hard task, Odette felt so mordantly what she had just lived through that she wrote and made drawings from the moment of her liberation, so as to be certain to stay as close as possible to the reality, so afraid was she that time would modify and deform her memories, either softening them or on the contrary making them blacker.[1]

 

Unlike Odette, Laure never came back from Auschwitz. She never testified. She fell into total oblivion. She is not on the list of victims at the Yad Vashem Memorial.

 

When the Second World War broke out, no one suspected that it was to be the most murderous military conflict in history. And few observers could predict the repercussions on the civilian populations. The human cost was catastrophic: between 60 and 80 million dead, among whom were 45 million civilians, plus many millions wounded, 30 million Europeans displaced.

While the bombings, executions, reprisals were to contribute to the horror of the war, it was most specially the concentration and extermination camps that would arouse general revulsion for the way they were conceived to provide the methodic extermination of all the “enemies of the Reich” — Blacks, Gypsies, Slavs, Jews. The eradication became massive in 1944.

 

In Tunisia

When Clara Taieb[2] was born on February 20, 1895 at Sfax, a town located on the edge of southern Tunisia, her parents certainly planned for her to have a quiet life  in or near her hometown.

Her father’s family were Tunisian Jews, known as Twansa, and little is known of it. Her father, Mordekhai (called Mardochée by the family), the son of a certain Avraham, was a traveling trader. Her mother’s family came from Leghorn in Italy. Her mother, Sarah Ossona (sometimes erroneously given as Assoua), was born in Tunis in 1866 to a merchant, Jacob Mendès-Ossona (1822 – 1902), and Clara Cardoso (1834 – 1904). She died on February 15, 1903 in Tunis when her little girl Clara was eight years old. Clara, whom the family called Laure, had a brother named Albert, to whom she was to remain deeply attached.

Although they were Tunisian, they were declared “under French protection”. The situation of Jewish citizens in Tunisia was different from that of their fellow Jews in Algeria, which was part of France and whose inhabitants were granted French citizenship by the Crémieux Decree. The Tunis Regency was a protectorate whose people kept their Tunisian nationality unless they requested naturalization. Nevertheless, at their request, the citizens of Israelite confession (as they were then called) were placed under the juridical protection of France.

Laure was therefore brought up between the Twansa and the Grana, at the crossroads between the religions and cultures of Tunisia, cosmopolitan since the 18th century. [Incompréhensible sans expliquer les termes, peut-être dans une note.]

In Tunis on December 8, 1924 Laure married Eliahou (called Élie) Cohen, born on December 13, 1882 in Tunis. His father was named Hai. The marriage was a religious rather than a civil ceremony,  performed by a rabbi notary.

Soon thereafter the couple left Tunisia for France. All her close relatives were dead and Laure was distressed that she could no longer follow the custom of visiting their graves in the Borgel cemetery on the anniversary of their deaths and the feast of Roch Hachana. [besoin de note] Still, she hoped this would be the start of a new life with her husband, and that circumstances would allow her to return to Tunis one day, at least to go and pray by their gravesides.

From Strasburg to Villeurbanne

The couple settled in Strasburg, where their only child, Roger Hai, was born on August 14, 1928. He was declared by his mother, and then on September 4, 1928[4] recognized by his parents, a formal obligation in the absence of a civil marriage.

Did Laure feel isolated in Strasburg, far from her brother Albert, despite the presence of her nephew, Abraham Albert Boucara? Was she without a social life? The fact is that around 1935 she and her family moved to Villeurbanne, near Albert and his wife Adrienne.

 

What an odd couple! He was as short and skinny and she was tall and plump. She had striking red hair. It was said to be a marriage of love. Their daughters, Sarah and Renée, are my best friends.[5]

 

Albert was the manager of Élie Boccara’s company[6] in Lyon. Élie Cohen was hired to work for the same company[7].

The family resided at n° 58 rue Hippolyte Kahn in Villeurbanne, a rapidly expanding working-class town on the edge of Lyon. On that quiet street lived low-income tradesmen and employees, both French and foreign. There were Spaniards, Italians, Turks, Polish, Russians[8]. Coexistence between the different nationalities was not a problem in this suburb that had become cosmopolitan since the arrival of workers from the colonies and foreign lands, laborers already indispensible to economic development during the war of 1914-1918, when companies in Lyon and others that had fallen back from invaded territory began to manufacture radio equipment and various subcontractors innovated in the field of electric components for the automobile industry.

Laure was happy in her house near the brand-new neighborhood of Gratteciel fostered by the Socialist mayor, Lazare Goujon. Running on the strength of his record as a builder, this physician-hygienist expected to be reelected mayor in 1935, but he was defeated by a teacher, the Communist candidate, Camille Joly. [9]

Doubtless little interested in politics, Laure took care of her house and her son. She was an accomplished housewife who shared with her husband Élie a love of family. They gladly entertained all their relatives:

The other Sundays were spent at Laure Cohen’s, the sister of Albert Taïeb. Her son Roger had marvelous toys and an amazing electric train we admired greatly. His father Élie worked for Papa, who never gave us such fine presents! Laure liked to go on about how handsome and smart her wonderful son was.[10]

 

Like any good Mediterranean mother she focused all her love on this only son who fulfilled all her expectations. She enjoyed this trouble-free existence until the year 1939 put an end to it.

First came the ill omen of a local rupture. The Communist municipality of Villeurbanne was dissolved when the French Communist Part was banned by the Daladier Decree of September 26, 1939. The Prefect appointed Victor Subit as president of a special delegation. Then in 1941 he was replaced by Paul Chabert, named mayor by Vichy and who was to boast of being the first mayor “to materialize his homage to the Maréchal de France [Pétain] with a bust worthy of the great leader”.[11].

Another, more tragic event was the outbreak of the war. During the invasion Lyon saw no fighting, as its mayor, Édouard Herriot, had obtained the status of an open city for the agglomeration. The Germans did not long remain, and a great many refugees came to Lyon as of July 1940. The city and its neighboring agglomerations were subject to the same common political existence, made up of censorship and official propaganda, as the rest of France under the authority of the Vichy government, which had just published the Statute on the Jews. It was valid throughout French territory, as well as in the colonies and protectorates, raising anti-Semitism to the status of state policy. Reacting to the Vichy policy, a rich network of resistance agents embracing all political shades quickly founded a large number of movements and clandestine newspapers.

 

“They have landed in North Africa!”

That was the wonderful news that greeted us on November 8, 1944. The landing took place in Morocco and Algeria. On the London radio we followed the combat between the Allied and Vichy forces. Collaboration France railed against the invasion of our colonies.

It was also Robert’s twelfth birthday. Uncle Jo, Armand and Tary, Charles and Lucienne, Albert and Dédée all came to drink champagne. We laughed, we sang, merry as prisoners about to be freed. They would soon be landing in France. Dates and places were postulated. In a few months the situation was reversed. Rommel was routed in Africa. The Russians were holding out before Stalingrad. Victory was for tomorrow.

The awakening was to be brutal.[12]

 

From Montluc Prison to Auschwitz

On November 11, 1942 the town of Villeurbanne, along with all the rest of the Free Zone, was occupied by German troops. It was the time of terrorist attacks, executions, assassinations and despoliations. It was the time of roundups for the impressment of “able-bodied prisoners”, as on March 1, 1943 in Villeurbanne, for as the war was prolonged and intensified Germany henceforth lacked workers to keep its war industry functioning smoothly. It was the time of roundups and denunciations of the “enemies of the Reich” and the communities to be wiped out, such as the Jews, who were blamed for all evils.

Laure and her family nevertheless stayed in Villeurbanne, as did Albert. They felt safe in this workers’ suburb where solidarity was not a vain word.

Meanwhile the city of Lyon suffered stringent repression due both to the size of local resistance groups and to its being a regional center for the Germans’ agencies of repression (Gestapo, SS, and military police) and for the French Militia. On November 20, 1943 members of the family began to be arrested, and this went on until June 26, 1944.

On Wednesday, July 5, 1944, Laure went to Lyon. Was she weary of being shut up at home in Villeurbanne, seeing nobody? Did she simply want news of her relatives? Did she feel safe going to visit her friend Madeleine?

 

At fifty years’ removal it is easy to see how blind we were. We ignored the alarms that went off right up to the last minute. We knew we were going to be arrested but without really believing it. Like the family of dying persons knows they are going to die but can’t actually admit it. The horror is incomprehensible. And the blow fell.[13]

 

Madeleine Goldberg[14] lived at n° 64 cours Gambetta in Lyon. That is where the two women were arrested by the Gestapo. They were interned in Lyon’s Montluc fort. Madeleine Goldberg was put in cell 13 n° 7818 [15] and was freed without any explanation by a police inspector[16] on July 14, 1944. Laure[17], on the other hand, was transferred from Montluc[18]to the Drancy camp on July 24, 1944. A week later, on July 31, 1944, she was deported to Auschwitz in convoy 77.

 

The journey lasted four days and four nights in a lead-sealed cattle car, with no air, no light, no water, no food, but with wailing children, weeping women and the screams of those gone mad. At last the train came to a stop. The doors were opened. Howls rang out: “Raus!Los! Los!”[19]

 

When Laure got down off the train she didn’t know where she was, she didn’t know what awaited her.

“You there, off to the right. You, off to the left.”

I found myself on the side where there weren’t many people, just a small group of women between the age of 15 and 45. On the other side there were handicapped women, those who were older, and all the children. That is how they culled the ones who looked robust enough for work and those who seemed weak.[20]

 

Laure was with the more fragile women. She died at Auschwitz on August 5, 1944, most likely gassed.

Without any news at first, her family heard she had been deported to Ravensbrück, but nothing further. No confirmation. Her husband, Élie Cohen, died in January, 1945[21], perhaps of sorrow. Now an orphan, their son Roger faced the pain, the impossibility of getting over his grief without a grave for his beloved mother who died in the horrifying conditions he was gradually to discover.

In 1948 Laure was declared “a deportee who never returned, and unknown in the various files of the Aliens Bureau”[22]; the regularization of her civil status was to be long and difficult. All the formal steps finally abutted in the deliverance to her son as legal successor of political deportee card n° 211331576 on December 6, 1965.

 

As the lovely song says:

“May the blood dry soon as it fades into history”

So may Auschwitz serve us as a lesson forever

And may the deportees live on in our memories.[23]

 

 

Caption for the photo of the plaque[24]

National Center for the Resistance and the Deportation: Reminder of the Anti-Semitic Persecutions

 

 

 

 

 

 

[1] Marie Rameau, Souvenirs, Éditions la ville brûle, 2015, p.61.

[2] For the family names, see: Paul Sebag, Les noms des juifs de Tunisie. Origines et significations, L’Harmattan, 2002 : Taieb, Tayeb p.138 ; Ossona, Mendès-Ossona p.114-115 ; Cohen p.58.

[3] Marriage license n°10525. Information supplied by Moché Uzan, a rabbi in Tunis.

[4] I wish to thank Corinne Rachel Kalifa Sabban, who furnished me the birth certificate.

[5] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, Collection Témoignages de la Shoah, Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, Editions Le Manuscrit, 2006, p.61.

[6] Élie Boccara was the brother of Abraham Albert Boucara. See at: http://www.convoi77.org/deporte_bio/abraham-boucara/

[7] AD 69, Villeurbanne’s 1936 census: http://archives.rhone.fr/ark:/28729/a0113034782054iS8LZ/1/1

[8] AD 69, Villeurbanne’s 1936 census:

[9] Biography of Camille Joly : http://maitron-en-ligne.univ-paris1.fr/spip.php?article89586

[10] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.62.

[11] Yannick Ponnet, « Avec Paul Chabert, la Ville s’offre un buste du maréchal Pétain » : https://www.leprogres.fr/rhone/2015/08/06/avec-paul-chabert-la-ville-s-offre-un-buste-du-marechal-petain

[12] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.150.

[13] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.173.

[14] Madeleine Marcelle Goldberg, née in 1911 in Paris; she was married and had 3 children.

[15] Rhône Departmental Archives, Montluc 1942-1944, Record sheet N°003915. http://archives.rhone.fr/ark:/28729/a0113034779221mY1Wl/1/1

[16] She was given an attestation on September 22, 1944. Ibidem, Record sheet N°003915.

[17] Attestation established by Madeleine Goldberg on September 15, 1961 in Lyon. In : DAVCC Dossier déporté politique 21 P 250404.

[18] Rhône Departmental Archives, Montluc 1942-1944, Record sheet N°7182. http://archives.rhone.fr/#recherche_montluc:

[19] Recounted by Myriam Roubi, in : Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.238.

[20] Testimony of Ginette Kolinka, a survivor of the Auschwitz-Birkenau camp: http://leplus.nouvelobs.com/contribution/1313086-a-19-ans-j-ai-ete-deportee-au-camp-d-auschwitz-je-n-en-ai-pas-parle-pendant-40-ans.html

[21] Death mentioned on his wife’s information sheet: http://archives.rhone.fr/#recherche_montluc

[22] Note dated November 23, 1948 addressed from the assistant director of the Police Générale to the head of the 3rd bureau of the Police Générale. In : DAVCC Dossier déporté politique 21 P 250404.

[23] Nelly Aubry, Poème sur Auschwitz. https://fr.calameo.com/read/0000089188ecb7c4010d9

[24] Centre national de la résistance et de la déportation : rappel des persécutions antisémites :

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c6/Lyon-D%C3%A9portation.JPG

270 – Gauche1
4775-COHEN_Laure_Lyon-Déportation
4775-COHEN_Laure_Porte prison Montluc
4775-COHEN_Laure_VILLEURBANNE

Contributor(s)

Danielle Laguillon Hentati, Professeur honoraire d’italien et auteur, Chevalier des Palmes académiques
0 Comments

Leave a reply

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Laure COHEN née TAIEB

1895 - 1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: , ,
270 - Gauche1

La vie brisée de Laure Cohen

(photo de son acte de mariage ci-contre)

 

 

par Danielle Laguillon Hentati

Professeur honoraire d’italien et auteur
Chevalier des Palmes académiques

 

 

Même si c’était une tâche difficile, Odette ressent avec une telle acuité tout ce qu’elle vient de vivre qu’elle écrit et dessine dès sa libération, pour être au plus proche de la réalité, tant elle craint que le temps ne vienne altérer et déformer ses souvenirs, que ce soit en les édulcorant ou au contraire en les noircissant.[1]

 

Contrairement à Odette, Laure n’est jamais revenue d’Auschwitz. Elle n’a jamais témoigné. Elle est tombée dans l’oubli total. Elle ne fait pas partie de la liste des victimes du Mémorial de Yad Vashem.

 

Quand la seconde guerre mondiale éclate, nul ne se doute que ce sera le conflit militaire le plus meurtrier de l’histoire. Et peu d’observateurs peuvent alors prévoir les répercussions sur les populations civiles. Le bilan humain est catastrophique : entre 60 et 80 millions de morts dont 45 millions de civils, plusieurs millions de blessés, 30 millions d’Européens déplacés.

Si les bombardements, les exécutions, les représailles vont contribuer à l’horreur de la guerre, ce sont surtout les camps de concentration et les camps d’extermination qui  engendreront un effroi général, pour leur conception, pour leur application méthodique à donner la mort à tous ceux qui étaient des « ennemis du Reich », à tous ceux qui étaient différents : Noirs, Tsiganes, Slaves, Juifs. L’extermination devient massive à partir de 1944.

 

En Tunisie

Quand Clara Taieb[2] naît le 20 février 1895 à Sfax, ville située aux portes du Sud tunisien, ses parents envisagent certainement pour elle une vie tranquille « au pays ».

Sa famille paternelle, des Tunisiens juifs ou « twansa », nous est peu connue : son père, Mordekhai (appelé Mardochée en famille), fils d’Avraham, est représentant de commerce. Sa famille maternelle est d’origine livournaise : sa mère, Sarah Ossona (Assoua par erreur), est née en 1866 à Tunis, fille de Jacob Mendès-Ossona (1822 – 1902), négociant, et de Clara Cardoso (1834 – 1904). Elle meurt le 15 février 1903 à Tunis alors que la petite fille n’a que huit ans. Clara, qu’on appelle Laure dans la famille, a un frère auquel elle va rester profondément attachée : Albert.

 Ils ont la nationalité tunisienne, mais sont déclarés « protégés français ». La situation des citoyens israélites en Tunisie est différente de celle de leurs coreligionnaires en Algérie, département français, où ils sont devenus Français par effet du décret Crémieux. La Régence de Tunis est un protectorat où les sujets tunisiens gardent leur nationalité, sauf s’ils demandent la naturalisation. Toutefois, à leur demande, des citoyens de confession israélite (comme on dit alors) sont placés sous la protection juridique de la France.

Laure est donc éduquée entre twansa et granas, au carrefour des religions et des cultures dans une Tunisie cosmopolite depuis le XVIII° siècle.

Le 8 décembre 1924, Laure se marie à Sfax[3] avec  Eliahou (nommé Elie) Cohen, né le 13 décembre 1882 à Tunis, fils de Hai. C’est un mariage religieux, non civil, célébré chez un rabbin notaire.

Peu après, le couple quitte la Tunisie pour la France. Ses proches étant tous décédés, Laure a le cœur serré car elle n’aura plus l’occasion de suivre la coutume de se rendre sur leurs sépultures au cimetière du Borgel, à l’anniversaire de leur mort et le jour de Roch Hachana. Toutefois, elle espère que ce départ annonce une nouvelle vie avec son époux ; et, si les circonstances le permettent, elle pourra revenir un jour à Tunis, au moins pour se recueillir sur leurs tombes.

De Strasbourg à Villeurbanne

Le couple s’établit à Strasbourg où naît leur fils unique, Roger Hai, le 14 août 1928. Il est déclaré par sa mère, puis reconnu par ses parents le 4 septembre 1928[4], formalité obligatoire en l’absence de mariage civil.

Laure s’est-elle sentie isolée à Strasbourg, malgré la présence de son neveu Abraham Albert Boucara, mais loin de son frère Albert ? A-t-elle manqué de relations sociales ? Le fait est qu’elle déménage avec son mari et son fils vers 1935 pour vivre à Villeurbanne, près d’Albert et de son épouse Adrienne.

 

Quel curieux couple ! Il est aussi petit et fluet qu’elle est grande et plantureuse. Elle a une chevelure d’un roux éclatant. Un mariage d’amour, dit-on. Leurs filles Sarah et Renée sont mes meilleures amies.[5]

 

Albert est directeur de la Société d’Élie Boccara[6], à Lyon. C’est dans cette même société qu’Élie Cohen est embauché comme employé[7].

La famille est domiciliée au numéro 58 rue Hippolyte Kahn à Villeurbanne, commune ouvrière en pleine expansion à la périphérie de Lyon. Dans cette rue tranquille habitent de modestes artisans et employés, partagés entre Français et étrangers : Espagnols, Italiens, Turcs, Polonais, Russes[8]. La coexistence de différentes nationalités et religions ne pose pas problème dans cette banlieue devenue cosmopolite depuis l’arrivée de travailleurs coloniaux et étrangers, main d’œuvre indispensable pour le développement économique déjà pendant la guerre de 1914-1918 quand entreprises lyonnaises et entreprises repliées se lancèrent dans le matériel radio et diverses sous-traitances innovantes comme l’électricité automobile.

Laure se plaît dans sa maison, proche de Gratteciel, nouveau quartier flambant neuf qu’a voulu le maire socialiste, Lazare Goujon. Fort de son bilan de maire bâtisseur, le médecin hygiéniste espère être réélu en 1935, mais il est battu par le candidat communiste, Camille Joly, instituteur[9].

Sans doute peu attirée par la politique, elle s’occupe de son ménage et de son fils. Elle est une maîtresse de maison accomplie qui partage avec son époux, Élie, le sens de la famille. Ils accueillent bien volontiers la parenté élargie :

Les autres dimanches se passent chez Laure Cohen, la sœur d’Albert Taïeb. Son fils, Roger, a de superbes jouets et un train électrique qui fait notre admiration. Et notre étonnement. Son père, Élie, est employé chez Papa qui ne nous a jamais offert d’aussi beaux cadeaux ! Laure vante la beauté et l’intelligence de son merveilleux fils.[10]

 

En bonne mère méditerranéenne, elle reporte tout son amour sur ce fils unique venu combler ses attentes. Elle profite d’une insouciance heureuse à laquelle l’année 1939 met fin.

C’est d’abord une rupture de mauvais augure au niveau local : la municipalité communiste de Villeurbanne est dissoute, suite à l’interdiction du parti communiste français et de ses organisations en vertu du décret Daladier du 26 septembre 1939 ; Victor Subit est nommé président d’une délégation spéciale par le préfet ; puis, en 1941, il est remplacé par Paul Chabert, maire nommé par Vichy qui se targuera d’avoir été le premier maire « à concrétiser, en un buste digne du grand chef, son hommage au maréchal de France » [11].

Autre événement plus tragique : la guerre éclate. Lors de l’invasion, Lyon ne connaît pas de combats, son maire Édouard Herriot ayant obtenu le statut de ville ouverte pour son agglomération. Si les Allemands ne restent pas longtemps, un très grand nombre de réfugiés s’installent à Lyon à compter de juillet 1940. La ville et les agglomérations voisines connaissent la même vie politique unique faite de censure et de propagande officielle que l’ensemble de la France, soumise à l’autorité du gouvernement vichyste. Celui-ci vient de publier le statut des juifs, valable sur tout le territoire français, ainsi que dans les colonies et les protectorats, statut qui établit de fait l’antisémitisme en politique d’État. En réaction à la politique de Vichy, un très riche réseau de résistants, regroupant toutes les tendances, fonde rapidement un grand nombre de mouvements et d’organes de presse clandestins.

 

« Ils ont débarqué en Afrique du Nord ! »

C’est la merveilleuse nouvelle que nous offre ce 8 novembre 1942. Le débarquement a eu lieu au Maroc et en Algérie. À la radio de Londres, on suit les combats qui opposent les forces des Alliés à celles de Vichy. La France de la Collaboration fulmine contre l’invasion de nos colonies.

C’est aussi l’anniversaire des douze ans de Robert. L’oncle Jo, Armand et Taty, Charles et Lucienne, Albert et Dédée viennent boire le champagne. Nous rions, nous chantons, heureux comme des prisonniers à la veille d’être libérés. Le débarquement en France est pour bientôt. On avance des dates, des lieux. En quelques mois, la situation s’est retournée. Rommel est en déroute en Afrique. Les Russes tiennent toujours devant Stalingrad. La victoire est pour demain.

Le réveil est brutal.[12]

 

De la prison de Montluc à Auschwitz

Le 11 novembre 1942, la ville de Villeurbanne est, comme tout le reste du territoire, occupée par les troupes allemandes. C’est le temps des attentats, des exécutions, des assassinats et des spoliations. C’est le temps des rafles pour recruter des « détenus aptes au travail », comme à Villeurbanne le 1er mars 1943, car, avec la prolongation et l’intensification du conflit, l’Allemagne manque désormais de travailleurs pour faire fonctionner correctement son industrie de guerre. C’est le temps des rafles et des délations envers les « ennemis du Reich » et les communautés à éliminer, comme les juifs accusés de tous les maux.

Pourtant, Laure et sa famille restent à Villeurbanne, tout comme Albert. Ils se sentent à l’abri dans cette banlieue ouvrière où la solidarité n’est pas un vain mot.

Cependant la ville de Lyon subit une répression importante, due à la fois à l’importance des mouvements résistants locaux et au fait qu’elle est un chef-lieu régional pour les organes de répression allemands (Gestapo, SS et Feldgendarmerie) et pour la Milice française. Le 20 novembre 1943, les arrestations des membres de la famille commencent et s’ensuivent jusqu’au 26 juin 1944.

Le mercredi 5 juillet 1944, Laure va à Lyon. Est-elle lasse de rester enfermée chez elle, à Villeurbanne, sans voir personne ? Veut-elle simplement avoir des nouvelles de la parenté ? S’est-elle sentie en sécurité en allant rendre visite à son amie, Madeleine ?

 

À cinquante ans de distance, on voit mieux notre aveuglement. On n’a pas tenu compte des signaux d’alarme qui ont retenti jusqu’au bout. On n’a pas profité des chances offertes jusqu’à la dernière minute. On savait qu’on allait être arrêtés mais sans le croire vraiment. Comme la famille d’un malade condamné sait qu’il va mourir sans l’admettre vraiment. L’horreur est incompréhensible. Le malheur est arrivé.[13]

 

Madeleine Goldberg[14] habite au numéro 64  cours Gambetta à Lyon. C’est là que les deux femmes sont arrêtées par la Gestapo. Elles sont internées au fort de Montluc à Lyon. Emprisonnée dans la cellule 13 n°7818[15], Madeleine Goldberg  est libérée, sans explication, le 14 juillet 1944 par un inspecteur de police[16]. Laure[17], par contre, est transférée  de Montluc[18] au camp de Drancy le 24 juillet 1944. Une semaine plus tard, le 31 juillet 1944, elle est déportée à Auschwitz par le convoi 77.

 

Le voyage a duré quatre jours et quatre nuits, dans un wagon plombé, sans air, sans lumière, sans eau, sans nourriture, avec les cris des enfants, les pleurs des femmes et les hurlements des fous. Le train s’est enfin arrêté. Les portes se sont ouvertes. Des cris : « Raus ! Los ! Los ! »[19]

 

Quand Laure descend du train, elle ne sait pas où elle est, elle ne sait pas ce qui l’attend.

« Toi, tu vas à droite. Toi, tu vas à gauche. »

Je me suis retrouvée du côté où il n’y a pas grand-monde, juste un petit groupe de femmes entre 15 et 45 ans. En face, il y avait les handicapées, les femmes plus âgées et tous les enfants. C’est ainsi qu’ils ont décidé des personnes qui semblaient suffisamment solides pour travailler, et celles à l’allure fragile.[20]

 

Laure s’est retrouvée du côté des femmes fragiles. Elle est décédée le 5 août 1944 à Auschwitz, vraisemblablement gazée.

D’abord restée sans information, sa famille entend dire qu’elle a été déportée à Ravensbrück, sans plus de renseignements. Pas de confirmation. Son mari, Élie Cohen meurt en janvier 1945[21], peut-être de chagrin. Devenu orphelin, leur fils Roger est confronté à la douleur, au deuil  impossible en l’absence de la tombe de cette mère tant chérie, morte dans des conditions effroyables qu’il va découvrir peu à peu.

En 1948, Laure étant déclarée « déportée non rentrée, et inconnue aux différents fichiers du Service des Étrangers »[22], la régularisation de son état civil s’annonce longue et difficile. Les formalités s’achèvent quand la carte de déportée politique n°211331576 est enfin délivrée le 6 décembre 1965 à son fils, à titre d’ayant-cause.

 

Comme le dit une si belle chanson

« Que le sang sèche vite en entrant dans l’histoire »

Alors qu’à jamais Auschwitz nous serve de leçon

Et que les déportés vivent dans nos mémoires.[23]

 

 

Légende de la photo de la plaque[24]

Centre national de la résistance et de la déportation : rappel des persécutions antisémites

 

 

 

 

 

 

[1] Marie Rameau, Souvenirs, Éditions la ville brûle, 2015, p.61.

[2] Pour les patronymes, voir : Paul Sebag, Les noms des juifs de Tunisie. Origines et significations, L’Harmattan, 2002 : Taieb, Tayeb p.138 ; Ossona, Mendès-Ossona p.114-115 ; Cohen p.58.

[3] Acte de mariage n° n°10525. Information donnée par Moché Uzan, rabbin à Tunis.

[4] Je remercie Corinne Rachel Kalifa Sabban qui m’a fourni l’acte de naissance.

[5] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, Collection Témoignages de la Shoah, Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, Editions Le Manuscrit, 2006, p.61.

[6] Élie Boccara est le frère d’Abraham Albert Boucara. Voir : http://www.convoi77.org/deporte_bio/abraham-boucara/

[7] AD 69, Villeurbanne recensement de 1936 : http://archives.rhone.fr/ark:/28729/a0113034782054iS8LZ/1/1

[8] AD 69, Villeurbanne recensement de 1936

[9] Biographie de Camille Joly : http://maitron-en-ligne.univ-paris1.fr/spip.php?article89586

[10] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.62.

[11] Yannick Ponnet, « Avec Paul Chabert, la Ville s’offre un buste du maréchal Pétain » : https://www.leprogres.fr/rhone/2015/08/06/avec-paul-chabert-la-ville-s-offre-un-buste-du-marechal-petain

[12] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.150.

[13] Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.173.

[14] Madeleine Marcelle Goldberg née Paris en 1911 à Paris ; elle est mariée et mère de 3 enfants.

[15] Archives départementales du Rhône, Montluc 1942-1944, Fiche N°003915. http://archives.rhone.fr/ark:/28729/a0113034779221mY1Wl/1/1

[16] Une attestation lui est remise le 22 septembre 1944. Ibidem, Fiche N°003915.

[17] Attestation établie par Madeleine Goldberg le 15 septembre 1961 à Lyon. In : DAVCC Dossier déporté politique 21 P 250404.

[18] Archives départementales du Rhône, Montluc 1942-1944, Fiche N°7182. http://archives.rhone.fr/#recherche_montluc:

[19] Récit de Myriam Roubi, in : Mireille Boccara, Vies interdites, p.238.

[20] Témoignage de Ginette Kolinka, rescapée du camp d’Auschwitz Birkenau : http://leplus.nouvelobs.com/contribution/1313086-a-19-ans-j-ai-ete-deportee-au-camp-d-auschwitz-je-n-en-ai-pas-parle-pendant-40-ans.html

[21] Décès mentionné sur la fiche de son épouse : http://archives.rhone.fr/#recherche_montluc

[22] Note en date du 23 novembre 1948 adressée par le sous-directeur de la Police Générale au chef du 3ème bureau de la Police Générale. In : DAVCC Dossier déporté politique 21 P 250404.

[23] Nelly Aubry, Poème sur Auschwitz. https://fr.calameo.com/read/0000089188ecb7c4010d9

[24] Centre national de la résistance et de la déportation : rappel des persécutions antisémites :

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c6/Lyon-D%C3%A9portation.JPG

 

270 – Gauche1
4775-COHEN_Laure_Lyon-Déportation
4775-COHEN_Laure_Porte prison Montluc
4775-COHEN_Laure_VILLEURBANNE

Contributeur(s)

Danielle Laguillon Hentati, Professeur honoraire d’italien et auteur, Chevalier des Palmes académiques
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?