Daniel URBEJTEL

1931 - | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Biography of DANIEL URBEJTEL

Daniel Urbejtel was 8 years old when war was declared in September, 1939.

His brother Henri, born on December 9, 1928, was ten. His little sister had recently been born in 1938.

He was born on February 19, 1931 in the 11th district of Paris. His parents were then living at n° 48 rue d’Alma in Asnières (northern Paris suburb). Wolf Urbejtel, his father, was a lathe machine operator, and his mother Ryvka was a housewife.

Daniel was 9 years old in September, 1940 at the time of the first German edict ordering a repertory of the Jews.

His parents were born in Poland, his father on March 5, 1905 in Warsaw, and his mother in 1901 in Olszanka, east of Warsaw. They were granted French citizenship in 1938 and failed to respond to the inventory in 1940. And they never wore the yellow star, either.

Perhaps they did not feel they were concerned.

On July 22, 1940 the Vichy government decreed a law on the revision of naturalizations that had occurred since 1927. Fifteen thousand people lost their French citizenship, including around 8000 Jews, who were declared to be stateless. Were they aware of this and did they hope to escape unnoticed?

On February 19, 1943 Daniel celebrated his 12th birthday!

But that morning a black front-wheel-drive car stopped in front of the house, and three policemen took his parents away. Daniel would never see them again.

That afternoon “a similar car came back, but my parents weren’t in it”. The children were arrested and “placed”– Daniel in an orphanage (the Institution Bouteilly in Monthléry), his little 4-year-old sister with a foster family in Houdan, and his 14-year-old brother Henri in a children’s home managed by the UGIF (General Union of the Israelites of France), at first on the avenue Secrétan.

Daniel learned on that day that he was Jewish.

The children had not been arrested for deportation, because Jewish children born in France were French by birth and thus not targeted, at that time, by the Vichy laws.

Daniel lived in the boarding house for 18 months, doing his sixth and seventh-grade schoolwork. He saw his brother during holidays, and, despite such unpleasant hassles as being forced to wear the yellow star outside the premises of the establishment, they went to see their little sister.

 

Daniel was 13 on the night  of July 22-23, 1944.

He joined his brother for the summer vacation at the UGIF’s Lamarck Center in Paris’s 11th district. They were both rounded up between the 23rd and the 24th of July.

Actually, Aloïs Brunner, who was then the commandant of the Drancy camp, had more than 230 children and adolescents arrested in the Parisian suburbs, because there were not enough people at Drancy to fill out his convoy on account of the trains running badly from the southern zone. “In the Paris area Brunner didn’t come up with much except the children who were quietly at his disposal. In Paris and the surrounding area”. (Georges Wellers De Drancy à Auschwitz, Éditions du Centre, p. 120)

Daniel has no recollection of the camp itself. “I don’t remember anything about the ten days I spent in that camp […] It’s as if the monstrosity of the following months had wiped out the memory of that period,” he wrote.

Daniel and his brother were deported on July 31st, less than a month before the liberation of the capital. Daniel well recalls the buses that took them to the Bobigny train station and the cattle cars that were waiting for them. He was slightly reassured by the brand-new wardrobe he had oddly enough been given before the departure, and also probably by the French policemen who helped the youngest to get on.

Daniel traveled with a hundred or so other children and babies, many younger than he, in the tightly bolted freight car. Inside there was a little straw, but they were so crammed in that it was impossible for them to lie down, or even to sit, all at the same time; the air supply was largely impeded by a plank intended to prevent any escape.

That summer of 1944 was very hot; the bucket of water provided quickly proved insufficient, as did the receptacle for satisfying nature’s needs. The heat, the stench, constant stops, the tears and cries of both older and younger children lasted four days and three nights.

On August 3, 1944 the door suddenly flew open; the relief occasioned by the open door probably lasted only a few seconds. On the platform benumbed people fell down, but they got up fast enough, bitten by the dogs, dazed by the loudspeakers and the SS yelling orders.

An SS officer organized two columns. His brother Henri was directed to the men’s column on the right. In front of David the SS hesitated, then decided he would go to the right. Daniel would rather have gone left with the women, children and older people because of his age; he was only 13.

The 726 people in the left column, 271 of whom were children, were gassed the same day… They had been 1300 at departure.

Daniel was one of the 574 deportees collected for roll call. The nudity, the overall shave that left the skin raw, the disinfection with cresyl, the tattoo B 3946 on his left arm quickly did away with any feeling of being human. The jailbird clothes, too small or too big, the wooden soles with leather straps, the food dish to be attached to a belt loop completed the dehumanization.

From the very first day, Daniel was put to work unloading coal wagons with his bare hands. A few days later he was assigned to the Peterson Kommando (work gang), named after its Kapo (collaborator/supervisor), to dig an enormous trench outside the camp. The Kapo was  “a sadistic brute, but his assistant Hantz struck me as a better sort”.

Work began at dawn after roll call, when those present … and those who were dead in the barracks… were counted.

The work was backbreaking; those who stopped were beaten, sometimes to death. Lunch was some kind of soup, “more or less consistent and nourishing”. Despite the extremely cold Polish winter, their clothes stayed the same, and they had to dig, without gloves, using “the same miserable tools”. No Saturday, no Sunday, only Christmas Day, 1944 was a day off.

Daniel was still only 13. The work day closed at nightfall. The evening roll call was particularly galling because of the fatigue, and then on certain days, when there had been an escape attempt, they had to watch the hanging and the long agony of the wretched prisoner due to his light weight.

On January 21, 1945 under the pressure of the advancing Russian troops the camp was evacuated by the Germans.

Daniel and his brother left the Auschwitz camp with those who were still fit for work, with a blanket on their back and a loaf of bread. “Nine days of wandering, of tramping on and on, extenuated, occasionally a stretch in open wagons, from time to time strafed by allied planes that had spotted the German uniforms of our escort”. Sixty thousand deportees took to the road for what are known as “the death marches”.

On January 30, 1945 they arrived at the central camp of Mauthausen, and from there they went first to an annex camp of concrete structures, then to a second camp of wooden barracks, and finally to a third camp of tents, probably Gunskirchen, 80 kilometers [50 miles] from Mauthausen. It was a canvas camp where the deportees who should never have made it there alive were herded together, the Jews from the eastern camps, totally abandoned.

It was at Mauthausen that Daniel turned 14, on February 19, 1945.

On the 4th or 5th of May, 1945 it was announced that it would no longer be possible to ensure rations (soup and bread); the next day the guards fled, and though the deportees were no longer guarded, they still waited another day before leaving the camp so as to avoid being shot accidentally by stray bullets.

Daniel and Henri, terribly weakened, lying on the ground among the excrement and the corpses, managed to get out. The weather was fine. They did not get far before collapsing in some cabin or attic. That is where the Americans found them.

Daniel weighed only 29 kilos [64 pounds], the weight of his bones; he crumbled, worn out by hunger, dysentery, typhus and scurvy.

His brother finally got a person with a Red Cross armband to take care of him, and he was put on a stretcher.

He lost consciousness, going into a month-long coma from which he came out amnesiac. Repatriated in short stages, he arrived in the Jura. He was with a doctor holding a letter on paper transparent enough for the writing to show through; he recognized it as his brother’s. He broke down in tears and his memory came back.

Back in Paris at the beginning of October, 1945, he was reunited with his brother and little sister. Henri had come back earlier and found their sister, thanks to her foster family, who came to the Hôtel Lutétia to check the list of those who made it back, which was posted there and updated. It was a sporadic reunion, as Henri was being treated for pleurisy in a Swiss sanatorium.

Daniel was put in a convalescent home in a château west of Paris, and the Lazare family who owned the château took care of the three of them. Daniel resumed his studies in 1946, got married at the age of 22, taking his sister in to live with them, and eventually was the father of seven. In 2017 he has 13 grandchildren.

Every year he goes to testify in the schools, and it was at the Émilie de Breteuil polyvalent high school in Montigny-le-Bretonneux that the junior (lower sixth form) vocational microtechnology class made his acquaintance.

 

[The French version of] this text was reread and approved by Daniel Urbejtel himself on November 16, 2017.

Daniel URBEJTEL birth certificate
Parents Daniel Urbejtel around 1925
death marches Daniel URBEJTEL
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (1)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (2)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (3)
Daniel URBEJTEL March, 2017 at Émilie de Breteuil high school
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (4)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (5)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (6)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (7)

Contributor(s)

Dominique Le-Nuz, enseignante et sa classe de 1° professionnelle microtechnique, du lycée Emilie de Breteuil, de Montigny le Bretonneux.

References

  • Sur la carte des marches de la mort, Le camp de Gunskirschen est mentionné (à la gauche de Vienne).
  • Vidéo du témoignage sur YouTube de Mr Daniel Urbejtel, au lycée Ste Marie de Bourges, en 2015. A voir absolument (ndlr).

Links

Complementary information

8 Comments
  1. Golsenne 9 months ago

    Merci pour ce témoignage. Je vais tenter de l’imprimer et le lire à mes élèves

  2. Author
    Serge Jacubert 9 months ago

    Chère professeur,
    nous restons à votre disposition pour toute question ou renseignement qui vous serait utile sur notre projet.
    Cordialement
    Serge Jacubert

  3. Author
    Serge Jacubert 8 months ago

    De la part de la classe du lycée Jeanne d’Arc de Nancy,
    Poèmes rédigés par les 1ES2 après leur visite du Panthéon, du mémorial de la Shoah et leur rencontre avec un rescapé d’Auschwitz M.Daniel Urbejtel
    Lien internet :
    https://www.lyceejeannedarcnancy.com/poemes-rediges-par-les-1es2-apres-leur-visite-du-pantheon-du-memorial-de-la-shoah-et-leur-rencontre-avec-un-rescape-dauschwitz-m-daniel-urbejtel/

  4. Eric 3 months ago

    Thank you for your story. i am moed and impressies and i’m happy you survived and live on in children and grandchildren.

    Kind regards and all my respect
    Eric linssen
    Col

Leave a reply

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Daniel URBEJTEL

1931 - | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:
Daniel URBEJTEL mars 2017 lycee E de Breteuil

Biographie de DANIEL URBEJTEL

Daniel Urbejtel a 8 ans au moment de la déclaration de la guerre en septembre 1939.

Son frère Henri, né le 9 décembre 1928, a dix ans. Sa petite sœur vient de naître en 1938.

Il est né le 19 février 1931, à Paris, dans le XIIe arrondissement, ses parents habitent alors 48 rue d’Alma à Asnières (Seine). Wolf Urbejtel, son père, est tourneur sur métaux et sa mère Ryvka est sans profession.

Daniel a 9 ans en septembre 1940, au moment de la première ordonnance allemande prescrivant le recensement des juifs.  

Ses parents sont nés en Pologne : son père, le 5 mars 1905 à Varsovie, et sa mère en 1901 à Olszanka, à l’est de Varsovie. Ils sont naturalisés français, en 1938, et ne se présentent pas au recensement en 1940. Ils ne porteront pas non plus l’étoile jaune.

Peut-être qu’ils ne se sentent pas concernés.

Le 22 juillet 1940, le gouvernement de Vichy promulgue un décret-loi portant sur la révision des naturalisations établies depuis 1927 : 15 000 personnes perdent la nationalité française, dont environ 8000 Juifs qui deviennent apatrides. Le savaient-ils et ont-ils espéré passer au travers ?

19 février 1943, Daniel a 12 ans, c’est son anniversaire !

Mais le matin, une traction avant noire s’arrête devant le pavillon, trois employés de la préfecture de police de Paris embarquent les parents, Daniel ne les reverra plus jamais.

L’après-midi, « une voiture semblable est revenue mais mes parents n’étaient pas à l’intérieur ». Les enfants sont arrêtés et placés, Daniel est placé dans un orphelinat (Institution Bouteilly à Monthléry) la petite sœur de 4 ans dans une famille d’accueil à Houdan et son frère Henri, 14 ans, dans une maison d’enfants gérée par l’UGIF (Secrétan en premier).

Daniel apprend ce jour-là qu’il est d’origine juive.

Les enfants n’ont pas été arrêtés pour être déportés, parce que les enfants juifs français de naissance n’étaient pas visés par les lois de Vichy.

Daniel reste 18 mois dans le pensionnat, il y suivra les classes de sixième et cinquième. Il voit son frère pendant les deux périodes de vacances et, ensemble, ils vont visiter leur petite sœur malgré les difficultés : ils sont obligés de porter l’étoile jaune, à l’extérieur des établissements.

 

Nuit du 22 au 23 juillet 1944, Daniel a 13 ans

Il rejoint son frère, pour les grandes vacances, au centre Lamarck de l’UGIF, dans le 11° arrondissement. Ils seront tous deux raflés entre le 23 et 24 juillet.

En effet, Aloïs Brunner, alors commandant du camp de Drancy, fait arrêter en banlieue parisienne plus de 230 enfants et adolescents car il manque de monde à Drancy, pour compléter son convoi, en raison des trains qui marchent mal depuis la zone sud. « Dans la région parisienne, Brunner ne trouvait plus grand monde mais les enfants restaient tranquillement à la portée de sa main. À Paris ou dans les environs » (Georges Wellers « De Drancy à Auschwitz » Editions du centre p.120)

Du camp lui-même Daniel ne se souvient pas «  Je n’ai aucun souvenir de la dizaine de jours passés dans ce camp […] Tout semble s’être passé comme si la monstruosité des mois suivants avait écrasé la mémoire de cette période » écrit-il.

Daniel et son frère sont déportés le 31 juillet, moins d’un mois avant la libération de la capitale. Daniel se souvient bien des autobus qui les ont emmenés vers la gare de Bobigny et des wagons à bestiaux qui les attendaient. Le trousseau entièrement neuf qu’on lui avait, curieusement, remis avant le départ le rassurait un peu, ainsi que probablement, les policiers, français, qui aidaient les tout petits à  monter.

Daniel voyagea, avec une centaine d’autres enfants et des bébés, et des plus jeunes que lui, dans le wagon cadenassé.  A l’intérieur il y a bien un peu de paille, mais, entassés, il est impossible de s’allonger ni de s’asseoir tous en même temps, l’arrivée d’air est bouchée en grande partie par une planche destinée à empêcher toute évasion.

Il faisait très chaud cet été 1944; le récipient d’eau fut vite insuffisant et celui destinés aux besoins naturels aussi. Chaleur, puanteur, arrêts multiples, pleurs des grands et des petits durèrent 4 jours et trois nuits.

Le 3 août 1944, la porte s’ouvrit brusquement ; le bien être apporté par l’ouverture ne dura probablement que quelques secondes. Sur le quai, les gens, engourdis, tombaient  mais se relevaient vite, mordillés par les chiens, abasourdis par les hauts parleurs et les SS qui criaient des ordres.

Un SS constitua deux files. Henri, son frère est dirigé à droite, file des hommes. Devant Daniel, Le SS hésite, puis se décide pour la file de droite. Daniel aurait préféré être à gauche avec les femmes, les enfants et les vieillards en raison de son âge, il n’a que 13 ans.

Les 726 personnes de la file de gauche, dont 271 enfants furent gazés le jour même … Ils étaient plus de 1300 au départ.

Daniel fait partie des 574 déportés regroupés sur la place d’appel. La nudité, la tonte qui laisse des écorchures, la désinfection au grésil, le tatouage sur le bras gauche B 3946 font perdre en très peu de temps le sentiment d’être un humain. Le vêtement de bagnard, trop petit ou trop grand, les semelles de bois à lanières, la gamelle à attacher dans le passant du pantalon achèvent la déshumanisation.

Dès le premier jour, Daniel décharge à mains nues des wagons de charbon.  Quelques jours après, il est affecté au commando de Peterson, du nom du Kapo, pour creuser une énorme tranchée à l’extérieur du camp. Le Kapo était « un sadique, brutal, mais son adjoint Hantz me paraissait plus bonhomme ».

Le travail commence au lever du jour après l’appel du matin où l’on compte les présents et … les morts restés dans le bloc.

Le travail est éreintant, ceux qui s’arrêtent sont battus, quelquefois à mort. Le déjeuner se compose d’une soupe « Plus ou moins épaisse et nourrissante ». L’hiver, très froid en Pologne, les vêtements restaient les mêmes et il fallait creuser, sans gants, avec « les mêmes pauvres outils ». Ni samedi, ni dimanche, seul le jour de Noël 1944 n’est pas travaillé.

Daniel n’a toujours que 13 ans, la journée de travail s’achève à la tombée de la nuit. L’appel du soir est particulièrement pénible en raison de la fatigue mais certains jours, quand il y avait eu une tentative d’évasion, il fallait en plus assister à la pendaison du malheureux et à sa longue agonie du fait de son faible poids.

Le 21 janvier 1945 : face à l’avancée des troupes russes, le camp est évacué par les Allemands.

Daniel et son frère partent du camp d’Auschwitz avec ceux qui sont encore valides, une couverture sur le dos et une miche de pain. « Neuf jours d’errance, de marche harassante ou en wagon découvert, quelquefois mitraillés par des avions alliés qui avaient repéré les uniformes allemands de nos convoyeurs ». Ce sont 60 000 déportés qui prennent la route dans ce qu’on appelle « les marches de la mort ».

Le 30 janvier 1945, ils arrivent au camp central de Mauthausen et, delà, dans un premier camp annexe construit en dur, puis dans un second camp de baraques en bois, et enfin dans  un troisième camp sous tente, probablement le camp de Gunskirchen, à 80 km du camp central de Mauthausen. C’est un camp en toile où sont rassemblés les déportés qui n’auraient jamais dû arriver vivants, les Juifs des camps de l’est, dans un total abandon.

C’est à Mauthausen que Daniel a eu 14 ans, le 19 février 1945.

Le 4 ou 5 mai 1945 : annonce est faite de l’impossibilité de garantir la ration alimentaire (soupe et pain), le lendemain les gardiens s’enfuient, les déportés ne sont plus gardés mais attendent encore une journée pour quitter le camp, pour ne pas essuyer de coup de feu perdu.  Daniel et Henri, très affaiblis, gisant à même le sol, parmi les excréments et les cadavres, parviennent à sortir : il fait beau. Ils ne vont pas bien loin et s’écroulent dans une cabane ou un grenier. C’est là qu’ils sont découverts par les Américains.

Daniel ne pèse plus que 29 kg, le poids de ses os, il sombre, épuisé par la faim, la dysenterie, le typhus et le scorbut.

Grace à la démarche de son frère, il est pris en charge par une personne portant un brassard de la Croix Rouge, qui le charge enfin sur un brancard.

Il perd conscience, reste environ un mois dans le coma dont il sort amnésique. Rapatrié par petites étapes, il arrive dans le Jura. Devant le médecin qui tient une lettre, il reconnaît l’écriture de son frère par transparence. Il s’effondre en larmes et la mémoire lui revient.

De retour à Paris début octobre 1945, il retrouve Henri et sa petite sœur. Rentré plus tôt, Henri a en effet retrouvé leur petite sœur, grâce à la famille d’accueil qui venait à l’hôtel Lutétia où la liste des revenants était tenue à jour et affichée. Des retrouvailles en pointillés, car Henri est soigné pour une pleurésie dans un sanatorium en Suisse.

Daniel est placé dans une maison de convalescence, dans un château des Yvelines, et la famille Lazare qui possède le château s’occupera des trois enfants. Daniel reprend ses études en 1946, se marie à 22 ans, prend alors sa sœur à la maison, puis devient père d’une famille de sept enfants, il a, en 2017, 13 petits enfants.

Tous les ans il intervient dans les établissements scolaires pour témoigner et c’est au lycée Emilie de Breteuil, de Montigny le Bretonneux, que la classe de première professionnelle microtechnique l’a rencontré.

 

Ce texte a été relu et validé par Daniel Urbejtel lui-même le 16 novembre 2017

 

Daniel URBEJTEL acte de naissance
Parents Daniel Urbejtel vers 1925
marches-de-la-mort-Daniel URBEJTEL
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (1)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (2)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (3)
Daniel URBEJTEL mars 2017 lycee E de Breteuil
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (4)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (5)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (6)
Daniel Urbejtel Temoignage (7)

Contributeur(s)

Dominique Le-Nuz, enseignante et sa classe de 1° professionnelle microtechnique, du lycée Emilie de Breteuil, de Montigny le Bretonneux.

References

  • Sur la carte des marches de la mort, Le camp de Gunskirschen est mentionné (à la gauche de Vienne).
  • Vidéo du témoignage sur YouTube de Mr Daniel Urbejtel, au lycée Ste Marie de Bourges, en 2015. A voir absolument (ndlr).

Liens

Informations complémentaires

2 commentaires
  1. Golsenne 4 jours ago

    Merci pour ce témoignage. Je vais tenter de l’imprimer et le lire à mes élèves

    • Auteur
      Serge Jacubert 3 jours ago

      Chère professeur,
      nous restons à votre disposition pour toute question ou renseignement qui vous serait utile sur notre projet.
      Cordialement
      Serge Jacubert

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2018 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?